Silver Creek upperclassmen join National Honor Society

Submitted Photo Eighteen upperclassmen from the Silver Creek Central School District were inducted into the National Honor Society on Thursday, Oct. 26.

Candlelight ceremony shines spotlight on academic achievements

SILVER CREEK – The cream of the crop. The best and the brightest. There are many ways to describe the highest-ranking upperclassmen in the Silver Creek Central School District. The academic achievements, extracurricular activities and commitment to public service of 18 of the district’s top students were described and applauded during the annual National Honor Society induction ceremony held on a recent Thursday evening (Oct. 26) in the high school auditorium.

Requirements for acceptance into the NHS are rigorous. Students must maintain a certain GPA, have good attendance, be passing all classes and have a clean discipline record, among other expectations such as performing community service and submitting a personal statement. Hobbies and work experiences may also influence acceptance into the NHS.

High School Principal Thomas Buczkowski welcomed the students, their families and guests before a performance of the National Anthem by current NHS members. Afterward, current NHS members presented about the four core values required for membership consideration. Vice President Briget Whipple spoke about scholarship, Secretary Sean Marchant talked about service, then members Ryan Rocque and Krystel Schwab discussed leadership and character, respectively. Candles were lit to highlight each core value.

For the formal part of the ceremony, each of the 18 inductees was introduced by his or her teacher sponsor, who candidly reflected on each student’s path to acceptance into the organization. Then Lauren Grover and Briget Whipple led the inductees in recitation of the National Honor Society Pledge. Closing remarks were given by Buczkowski.

After the ceremony, a reception was held in the lobby for inductees, their families and guests. Groups of students and loved ones lingered together at tables, celebrating their achievements, pausing for photo opportunities while wearing their blue and gold honor cords and enjoying refreshments.

Special thanks went out to Jaime Karnes, the NHS advisor; the NHS Faculty Council; the SCCS teachers and staff for their dedication, mentorship and contributions to the success of all students; as well as parents and families.

2017 Inductees and sponsors

Hunter Bogosian was sponsored by Sean Helmer; Garrett Castle was sponsored by Courtney McIntyre; Savanna Dawley was sponsored by Jaime Karnes; Jenna Gabel, Chloe Morton and Alexis Murawski were sponsored by Principal Buczkowski; Julia Hill was sponsored by Joshua Sadler; Allison Karcz was sponsored by Krista Bialasik; Jenna Miller and Makenzie Pagano were sponsored by Mark Bratcher; Madison Mott was sponsored by Zachary Palcic; Andrea Olsen was sponsored by Justin Cerne; Rachel Radack and Grace Restivo were sponsored by Caitlin Wojciechowski; Emma Rice was sponsored by Kevin Rice; Savannah Seeley was sponsored by Phillip McMullen; Olivia Watroba was sponsored by Jason Waterman; and Kristen Wielgasz was sponsored by Christian Charles.