Girl Scouts hold first-ever Hanover area Powderpuff Pinewood Derby

Pictured are the participants in the recent Powderpuff Pinewood Derby Race held by five different Hanover-area Girl Scout troops.

SILVER CREEK — On Sunday Nov. 19, 49 Girl Scouts from five different Troops, ranging in age from 5 to 12, competed in the first-ever Hanover area Powderpuff Pinewood Derby Race at Mount Carmel Church Hall in Silver Creek. The race, originally made popular by Cub Scouts, features cars made out of wood blocks, designed by the girls themselves, racing down a wood and metal track. Some of the girls worked alone on their cars, while others built and decorated their cars with help from their parents and volunteers at a Pinewood Derby workshop held the weekend before the race.

Trophies and medals were awarded in each age division (Daisy Scouts, Brownies, Juniors, and Cadette/Senior Scouts) to the first, second and third place finishers, as well as Best in Show. At the end of the racing heats, the first-place winners in each category raced for the title of Grand Champion. Every girl who participated received a PowderPuff Pinewood Derby Badge to proudly display on their Girl Scout Uniform.

Members of the Silver Creek Cub Scouts/Boy Scouts provided use of their computerized track and invaluable guidance and assistance in planning the event.

There was an impressive amount of community involvement with many people, not just parents of scouts, volunteering their time to make this a successful event. The Girl Scouts are very appreciative of all the help and support they received.

The Hanover Girl Scout Service Unit hopes to make this an annual event.

Winners of the event:

Daisies: 1st–Serenity Winger; 2nd–Lilly Shaw; 3rd–Eliza Dentice; Best in Show–Lilliana Dowling.

Brownies: 1st–Gabby Dudek; 2nd– Jayln Smith; 3rd–Lianna Parcell; Best in Show–Emmie Brinkman.

Juniors: 1st–Cassidy Westbrook; 2nd–Cerenity Pfleuger; 3rd–Cierra Fisher; Best in Show–Cassidy Westbook.

Cadettes/Senior: 1st–Stephanie VanCheri; 2nd–Nora Pantano; 3rd–Sarah Cross; Best in Show–Nora Pantano.

Grand Champion: Gabby Dudek.