DUNKIRK HOUSE TOUR FOCUSES ON 5 SITES
On Sept. 8, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. you will be able to tour five fantastic Dunkirk Homes. Tickets will be $20 with all proceeds benefitting the Dunkirk Historical Museum located at 513 Washington Ave.
Tickets may be purchased at the following locations: Dunkirk Free Library at 536 Central Ave., P & G Foods at 411 Central Ave., One Stop Big Rick’s Food Mart & Deli at 327 Lake Shore Drive East and the Dunkirk Historical Museum at 513 Washington Ave.
Please note that if you are a member of the Historical Society, you are entitled to a $5 discount, but you must purchase the ticket at the Museum. No tickets will be sold at the houses on the day of the tour.
Here are the homes that will be featured:The Sanden Home, 4550 Lake Shore Drive West — Rosie Sanden
Nestled in the Harrysbourg area is property originally owned by Clyde Lathrop, who sold part of his orchard in 1946. A very generous man, Lathrop created six properties for homes and one additional full-sized lot as a community property owned jointly by all homeowners to enjoy life on the lake, have picnics and hold weddings.
One of the homes is the Sanden cottage built in 1950. The bright and bold colors of the cottage reflect the harmony and beauty Rosie Sanden brings to her painting. There are over eighty windows in the house which opens it to the surrounding plantings. The cobblestone home to the right was the summer home of Harry Hequenberg after he left for New York City.
Enjoy lingering on the lake and the gardens before you leave. The docents will share stories of the dining room with examples of paperweights glowing in the light. Notice the stained glass frog by an artist in Silver Creek. The living room remains as it was in the original home. The soft blues of the walls and furniture echo the blues of the lake.
The large master bedroom was built by Corey Benchley, a previous owner.
Please note attendees may take a brief outdoor tour about the Harry Hequembourg estate, Harrysbourg, and the structures still existing from the turn of the century.
The Murphy House, 938 Central Avenue — Tom and Debra Murphy
This Queen Anne Foursquare house features elements characteristic of the style including its boxy shape, expansive front porch with classical columns, its suggestion of a tower created by the bay window on the second story, and large dormer window. The house also possesses a Palladian window dating from 1889. This house sits on property on which a Dotterweich home sat amongst hop fields used for their brewery.
The Murphys have undertaken a substantial remodeling of the interior with many creative touches. The pocket doors of the 1930s were kept along with cabinets and windows. Horsehair insulation and a gas lighting system were discovered during renovation.
Check out the kitchen and adjoining room. Italian porcelain and Turkish onyx were added to the decor. Be certain to view the space Tom has designed as an “away room” with an Irish theme. Exit through the family room to a backyard patio with fireplace and great landscaping.
The Crossan Home, 616 Eagle Street — Gary and Barb Crossan
Until 1924, this area of Eagle Street wasn’t developed. The first owners, Edwin and Elizabeth Haycroft, occupied this house in 1925. Mr. Haycroft was the chief engineer for the city water works. In 1930, Edwin and Agnes Crowe moved into the house. Mr. Crowe was employed by Auto Accessories sales.
Archibald Milligan purchased the home in 1935, then it was occupied between 1938-1944 by Geraint and Jesse Rider, owners of Rider’s Service Station at 435 Central Avenue. In 1946 Adelbert Cummings, President-Treasurer of the Dunkirk Laundry Company occupied the house. This house is another example of the Queen Anne Foursquare, with its asymmetrical facade, wide porch, suggestion of tower on the second story, and Palladian window. The house has six leaded windows and one stained glass window.
The Crossan house employs one of the popular “houses from books” plans from the Sears Catalogue. Inside, the owners have collected a treasure trove of wonderful and unique antiques. Some of these antiques came from Mr. Crossan’s grandparents who were drivers for the wealthy owners of one of the prominent Delaware Avenue mansions in Buffalo. A new intriguing antique was recently discovered by the Crossans with attendant stories.
Their collections bring warmth to this house and an appreciation for it history and architectural design.
The Jakiela House, 702 Washington Ave. — Lenore Jakiela
The Jakiela house is also Queen Anne in design, with a second story corner polygonal tower and a characteristically wide porch covering the front facade. It also features a Palladian window on the main gable of the third floor and a bay window on the large porch and side of the house.The first owners were Oscar Segerbarth, a clerk at Alco, and his wife Viola, taking possession in 1910. Oscar became a cost clerk from 1912-1918 then continued until 1948 as an assistant shop clerk. Mr. Segerbarth was Vice President of the Masonic Association from 1949-1952. The house was briefly owned in 1955 by Russell and Josephine Valone, owners of Valone’s Meat Market. Carl and Arlene Kaufman lived in the house with five daughters from 1957-1981. Carl was a bottler at Koch’s Brewery.
The current owner, Lenore Jakiela, has taken on some remodeling projects and is excited to showcase the windows, woodwork, floors and original chandelier. A full attic completes the top floor.
The Walker Home – 415 Eagle St. — Jason and Jenna Walker
The Walker Home is a fine example of the Craftsman Bungalow. It was occupied by Albert and Edna Rueckert from 1920 to the late 1960s. The Rueckerts owned and operated William Rueckert and Sons at 19 Ruggles Street, where they sold flour, feed, grains, seeds and cereals. This style of house was popular in the years from 1900 -1929, mostly prior to 1920. The identifying features are low-pitched, gabled roofs, wide overhanging eaves, exposed rafters under eaves, decorative brackets (knee braces or corbels), with a front or corner porch under the roofline. Porches have thick square or round columns, often with stone porch supports.
The front porch of the Walker home is a very inviting and comfortable example of the style. This is notable for its beautiful woodwork. Many decorating features are unique to the Walkers, new owners who are eager to personalize their home.
One such personalized feature includes an upstairs “princess” room for their daughter.