American Chemical Society Penn-York Section recognizes outstanding students

Submitted Photo Outstanding chemistry students were recognized at the Penn-York Section of the American Chemical Society’s recent Awards Night. Chautauqua County students at the event were (from left) Seth Schrader, Fredonia Central School; Janie Swanson, Falconer Central School; and Ezekiel Olson, Maple Grove Central School.

JAMESTOWN — The Penn-York Section of the American Chemical Society honored area chemistry students recently at their annual awards night at the Moon Brook Country Club in Jamestown.

The American Chemical Society is a congressionally chartered independent membership organization that represents professionals at all degree levels and in all fields of chemistry and sciences that involve chemistry. It is the largest scientific society by membership, and the Penn-York is one of the largest geographical sections of the ACS, covering the western Southern Tier of New York and the adjacent area of Pennsylvania.

All high school teachers in the Penn-York area were invited to select their outstanding chemistry student and submit his or her name to the section. The teachers, students and their families were invited to the dinner, where Secretary-Treasurer Charles Brininger, retired and adjunct professor of chemistry at Jamestown Community College, welcomed everyone and gave background on the ACS. Brininger joined event organizer Donna Brestensky, professor of chemistry at St. Bonaventure University, in presenting the awards.

Students from Chautauqua County who were recognized were Ezekiel Olson, Maple Grove Central School; Seth Schrader, Fredonia Central School; and Janie Swanson, Falconer Central School.

Cattaraugus County awardees were Meganne Chapman, Ellicottville Central School; Christine Pagett, Portville Central School; Nyles Panus, Salamanca Central School; and Brandon Watkins, Allegany-Limestone Central School.

Pennsylvania students recognized were Brevin Austin, Oswayo Valley High School; Buddy Miller, Bradford High School; and Jana Thomas, North Clarion High School.

After receiving their cash prize, each youth spoke briefly on their academic plans and professional aspirations. Award certificates were sent to the students’ schools for presentation at their awards assemblies.