SUNY Fredonia presents Custodial Safety Incentive Awards to employees

Submitted Photo Displaying their Custodial Safety Incentive Award certificates are (beginning second from left): Mary Ann Wykstra, Iris Rosa, Jack Anderson and Charles Miller, along with Mark Delcamp, assistant director of Custodial Services (far left) and Sarah Laurie, director of Environmental Health, Safety and Sustainability (far right).

Members of the Custodial Services staff at the State University of New York at Fredonia were honored and presented individual awards at the 17th Annual Custodial Services Awards Recognition Luncheon held recently at the Williams Center.

At the beginning of each semester, the university recognizes individual winners of Custodial Safety Incentive Awards as well as their colleagues for their hard work and dedication. More than 70 people, including high-level administrators, attended the program.

“Whether it’s working extra shifts to cover special events, or we are pulling you out of your buildings to prepare the townhouses between semesters and making changes in the way we service offices around campus, your true colors always shine through,” said Mark Delcamp, assistant director of Custodial Services. “I’m reminded each day of your commitment to the success of this university.”

Individual awards, recipients and their building locations were:

No Propped/Chocked Doors: Maryann Wykstra, Linda Saletta and Debbie Kujawa — Hemingway Hall.

Proper Bulb Storage: Iris Rosa and Jack Anderson — Maytum Hall.

Proper Chemical Labeling: Charles Miller, Sue Michalak and Tracy Lorenzo — McGinnies Hall.

Award recipients are selected based on results of semi-annual building inspections conducted by Sarah Laurie, director of Environmental Health, Safety and Sustainability; Kevin Cloos, director of Facilities Services; Tim Lillie, head janitor of Custodial Services; Kathy Forster, director of Residence Life, and Delcamp. Residence hall directors or building safety coordinators and janitors and their supervisors also participate in the inspections.

Award certificates and $25 gift certificates were presented to all recipients.

Also recognized at the luncheon by Michael Metzger, vice president for Finance and Administration, were past award recipients, beginning in 2003: David Renckens, Mary Abers, Vince Chillemi, Dan Pleszewski, Randy Goodemote, Mary Lecklite, Darlene Miller, Lee Szalkowski, Sue Smith, Gladys Lockett, Jorge Rosa, Sue Valentine, Iris Rosa, Bob Miller and Nick Valentine.