Dems announce Legislature candidates

Chautauqua County Democratic Chair Norman P. Green announced the Democratic candidates who will be joining the ticket this November headed up by county executive candidate Mike Ferguson and county clerk candidate LeeAnn Lazarony.

The Democrats announced candidates for 14 of the county’s 19 Legislature Districts. The candidate list in addition to the party’s four legislature incumbents seeking re-election are:

¯ District 1 — Tommy Roque has filed to challenge Kevin Muldowney, area rep for State Senator Cathy Young, representing Dunkirk.

¯ District 3 — Bob Dando, leader of the Chautauqua County Working Families Party, is challenging Bob Scudder, representing Fredonia-Pomfret.

¯ District 6 — Hanover Town Councilman Kevin O’Connell is running to replace George Borrello, GOP candidate for County Executive, representing Silver Creek and the Town of Hanover.

¯ District 11 — Jamestown businessman and political newcomer Frank Besse is challenging County Republican Party Chair Dave Wilfong in District 11.

¯ District 12 — Political newcomer Dave Reinhardt, director of athletics for Chautauqua Striders, is challenging Elisabeth Rankin, who is the executive assistant to Assemblyman Andy Goodell.

¯ District 16 — Poland Town Councilman Terry Walker is running to take over from retiring Legislator Ron Lemon, representing Frewsburg, Kennedy and the towns of Poland, Carroll and Kiantone.

¯ District 8 — Homemaker Jeri Ann Simora, a political newcomer, is challenging Pierre E. Chagnon, representing Bemus Point and the towns of Ellery and North Harmony.

¯ District 18 –Chautauqua Lake Elementary school principal Ella Ames, a registered Independence Party member, is challenging Legislature Chairman David Himelein, representing Mayville and Findley Lake and the towns of Sherman, Mina and all but a small eastern sliver of Chautauqua Town.

¯ District 19 — Ripley Library Board President Laurel Adams, also a political newcomer, is challenging John Hemmer, representing Westfield and Ripley.

The four incumbent Democratic legislators are all seeking re-election including Minority Leader Chuck Nazzaro, Jamestown District 9; Assistant Minority Leader Bob Bankoski, Dunkirk District 2; Jamestown Legislator Paul Whitford, District 13; and Fredonia Legislator Christine Starks, District 4.

The Democrats are not running candidates in Districts 5, 7, 10, 14, 15 and 17.