Hall is winner in Hanover justice race

Dayton supervisor candidate wins Republican primary by two votes

With absentee votes tallied, Hanover Town Justice candidate Phillip Hall is still the top vote getter.

As a result, he will appear on the Republican line in the Nov. 7 general election.

The Chautauqua County Board of Elections counted absentee ballots following primaries held Sept 12. Official results posted by the board of elections show Hall officially garnering 77 votes. Wayne Ashley received 73 votes and Anthony Pearl had 47 votes.

Overall, five absentee ballots went to Hall, three absentees went to Ashley and two absentees went to Pearl. The town justice primary saw the casting of 197 votes.

The town justice race in the November general election will still see the three candidates. Pearl will appear on the Democratic line and Ashley will have the Conservative and Independence party lines.

Other results from primaries in Chautauqua County include the Republican primary for Harmony Supervisor, which shows John Brown with 47 votes and William Lawson, current supervisor, with 16 votes.

In the town of Mina, Ernest Roache officially received 59 votes to appear on the Republican line for a council seat. David Calvert officially received 37 votes.

Todd Kolstee and Matthew Wade received 65 and 63 votes respectively to appear on the Republican line for Clymer council positions in November. Randall Shampoe Jr. received 17 votes.

In Cattaraugus County, Angie M. Mardino-Miller beat out Mark A. Smith officially by two votes to appear on the Republican line for Dayton Town Supervisor on Nov. 7. The two candidates were tied with 87 votes going into absentee ballot counting.

Two absentee votes that went to Mardino-Miller decided the primary race that saw the casting of a little over 175 votes.

Two write-in candidates will appear on the Democratic line for Perrysburg town council seats. Mary Stuhr and Lisa Towne received six and five write-in votes respectively. Thirteen people cast votes in the primary that didn’t see a candidate’s name on the ballot.

In Erie County, official results haven’t been posted regarding the Republican primary for North Collins town council. Three candidates are running for two seats. Unofficial results showed William Ross Moritz receiving 34 votes, Peter D. Robbins getting 30 votes and Brandi C. Lobianco securing 26 votes.

A Green Councilperson primary was held for Evans Town Council, of which two write-ins were counted.