State will help with costs

Gov. Andrew Cuomo this week announced three communities that recently held dissolution votes will all get funding.

The three communities are Hanover (for Forestville), Cherry Creek and Sherman. Both Forestville and Cherry Creek voted to dissolve, while Sherman rejected dissolution by two votes.

Even though Sherman voted against dissolution, the village is still eligible for up to $50,000 in state funds, to cover the costs associated with the public vote.

In all three communities it was not the officials who petitioned for a dissolution vote; rather it was a group of concerned residents that circulated petitions, which made the votes possible.

So if concerned residents want to petition a dissolution vote, don’t let the fear of additional costs to the municipality be a reason to stop. Investigate dissolution. It won’t be a financial burden. Don’t let current officials tell you otherwise.