Beat The Champ finalists set for TV 

Lucky Lanes hosted the qualifier for the “Beat The Champ” television show on WBBZ-TV this past weekend.

Out of the 161 entries, the field was narrowed down to the top 24 scores. From there, the top nine moved onto the finals, which will be held Sunday, March 26 and be televised on WBBZ.

The top bowler was George Szczublewski with a 775 series, followed by Bob Senker, Tim Jensen, Matt Zasowski, Bob Ciminella, Chuck Jagodzinski, Tony Dolan, Andy Rettig, Brad Bixby, Tyler Molina, Mike Hulbert, Andrew Raymond, Andy Proctor, Scott Kawski, Michael Kemp, Ben Montague, Sean Dietz, Kevin Voelker, Joe Jagoda, Sam Carson, Ryan Wise, Jeff Pohlman, Mike Zarcone, Tom Jagoda, and top female bowler, Peggy Kuhn.

During the competition, some fine bowling was on display as Jerry Lewandowski, Mike D’Amico, Diez and Voelker each had a 300 game. Rettig had a 299 and George Szczublewski charted a 297 game.

From that group, the top nine bowlers to qualify and compete on the show are Senker, Montague, Dietz, Molina, Dolan, Zasowski, Jensen, Kemp and Bixby, with Carson as the alternate.

As previously noted, these bowlers will compete on March 26 at Lucky Lanes, beginning at 10 a.m. for the taping of the show. All are welcome to attend.

The High School Challenge portion of the TV show will have its final qualifiers this Sunday at noon, 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. at Lucky Lanes. The top four scores with handicap will compete for the final TV show. All bowlers who were members of a high school team this past season are able to bowl any or all shifts this Sunday for a chance to showcase their skills on TV.