DeMarco, Knapp make second team in CCAA West 2

The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association West 2 Division All Star votes are in for the 2016-17 basketball season.

Kaitlyn Blanchard, senior of Frewsburg, won the top price for Most Valuable Player in the league. Her coach, Jeff Collver, won the Coach of the Year.

For the first team, Frewsburg was well represented in Olivia Lynn and Gabby Iuculano. Meanwhile’s Panama’s Natalie Angeletti and Madalyn Bowe, along with Clymer’s Lauren Dunnewold round out the first-team selections.

A pair of Westfield Lady Wolverines head the second-team list, highlighted by Maddison Knapp and Sophia DeMarco. Meanwhile, Sherman’s Danielle Aldrich and Abbey Cole made the team, as did Panama’s Nicole Johnson.

Following are the honorable mention selections:

Cassadaga Valley: Jewelee Schauman, Amber Morrison and Mikayla Falkner

Clymer: Nashia Duryee, Ashley Beckwith and Jenna Covey.

Panama: Tara Sweeney and Lauren Barmore

Frewsburg: Hannah Boardman

Sherman: Carrie Sands, Zoey Charrette and Katie Pacy.

Westfield: Sydnee Abele and Rachel Mathews

Clymer Central School won the Team Sportsmanship award. The Individual Sportsmanship awards go to: Amber Morrison (Cassadaga Valley), Emily Boozel (Clymer), Kaitlyn Blanchard, (Frewsburg), Madlyn Bowen (Panama), Carrie Sands (Sherman) and Rachel Mathews (Westfield).

The league Individual Sportsmanship Award went to Clymer’s Lauren Dunnewold.