Pine Valley’s Zoe Nelson earns First-Team honors

OBSERVER File Photo Pine Valley’s Zoe Nelson (24) guards Cassadaga Valley’s Kelly Butcher during a non-league girls basketball game earlier this season. Nelson was named to the CCAA East 2 First Team recently by coaches in the divisions.

The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association East 2 girls basketball all-star teams were announced recently by coaches within the division.

Franklinville freshman sharpshooter Danielle Haskell was named the Player of the Year while her coach, Allan Dunlap, earned Coach of the Year honors.

On the First Team were Ellicottville’s Marissa Hamilton and Emmalea Erlandson while Franklinville was represented by Allyson Haskell and Abby McCoy. Pine Valley’s Zoe Nelson rounded out the First-Team selections.

On the second team were Pine Valley’s Emily Raiport and Kayla Hohl, Ellicottville’s Linnea Jimerson, Franklinville’s Amy O’Neil and Cattaraugus-Little Valley’s Katie Jones.

Earning honorable mention were Taylor Stockman and Kayla Cannon of Cattaraugus-Little Valley, Evelyn Cortez and Jenna Aldrich of Ellicottville, Gabrielle Gadewoltz and Emily Gizowski of Forestville, Franklinville’s Katie Michellis, North Collins’ Destiny Neamon and Isabelle Wroblewski and Pine Valley’s Kaylee Crisanti and Kelley Andrews. The Team Sportsmanship Award went to the Cattaraugus-Little Valley Lady Timberwolves.