8th annual Mongy Wiffleball Tournament benefits worthy cause

Submitted Photos Pictured above are Tom Tarnowski, Michael Tarnowski, Daniel Tarnowski, Michael Curtin, and representatives of Lakeshore Humane Society, Rock Vallone and Bob Ehrheart. Pictured at top is a group photo of all of the players who participated in the event.

OBSERVER Staff Report

The 8th Annual Mongy Memorial Wiffleball Tournament was held on Saturday, June 17. The X-Blades, consisting of Nick Ahlstrom, Vinny Bomasuto, Adam Kubasik and Bryant Watts, were tournament champions. Bomasuto was named tournament Most Valuable Player batting .622. He had 23 hits, including three doubles and six homeruns. He also scored 18 runs, drove in 19 more and walked four times.

All-Tournament First Team selections consisted of Kubasik, Michael Tarnowski, Ahlstrom and Watts. On the Second Team selections were Robert Nalepa, Joe Pantano, Joe Jagoda and Dylan Allesi.

This year, proceeds from the tournament, which amounted to $1,500, were donated to the Lakeshore Humane Society. A special thank you to all the sponsors who helped make the day a success. The sponsors included the Kosciuszko Club, Dunkirk Falcon Club, Dom Polski Club, Robert F. Calph Inc., Coughlan’s Pub, Exempts Club, Columbus Club, Paul VanDenVouver, Moniuszko Club, City of Dunkirk Local 912, Zeke and Linda Curtin, Conservation Club, Mary’s Deli, D & F Travel, Comfort Pest Control, Main Wine & Spirits, Sir Prints a Lot, Dunkirk Letter Carriers, and especially to Tom and Diane Tarnowski for hosting the event.