Best of the best

Fredonia’s Brown, Rey dubbed as ‘Runners of the Year’

Submitted Photo From left, CCAA Large School Runners of the Year, Diego Rey and Emily Brown, pose along with Fredonia cross country teammate and First-Team All Star, Josh Johnson, shortly after their state-qualifying performances in the cross country Sectional race at Bemus Point Golf Course.

OBSERVER Staff Report

Fredonia runs away with 11 CCAA All-Star selections

The 2017 CCAA Cross Country All Stars feature many talented local athletes in the Large Schools designation, highlighted by both selections for the “Runner of the Year” award. Diego Rey of Fredonia was the boys recipient, while Fredonia’s Emily Brown took home the award for the girls.

Fredonia added 11 additional runners to the list of talented athletes, including four First-Team selections. Anna Buchanan, Hannah Gullo, and Savannah Lashbrook for the girls, along with Josh Johnson for the boys, all made the CCAA First Team from Fredonia. Alec Schrader, Ashlyn Ambrose, and Ashley Holt were all Second-Team selections, while Chris Annear, Peter Calanni, Aurora Merwin and Claire Stokes were all Honorable Mention.

Other local runners selected to the First Team for the boys include: Bryce Baglia and Collin Barmore (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley), along with Lyle Warrior of Gowanda. Second Team boys include: Anthony Ruiz (Dunkirk), Andrew Kruszka (Gowanda), and a trio from Falconer/Cassadaga Valley of Connor Hudson, Ben DePerna and Andrew Young. Rayven Sample (Falconer/Cassadaga Valley), along with Christian Cook and Jacob Monat of Gowanda, were Honorable Mention.

Marianna Waite of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley was selected to the First Team for the girls, while her teammates Macey Arnone and Mikaela LeBaron made the Second Team. Emagin Warrior also made the Second Team for Gowanda. Brittyn LeBaron and Sarah Lefford were Honorable Mention for Falconer/Cassadaga Valley, while Kayla Forthman and Kristine Twoguns earned Honorable Mention for Gowanda.

Kevin Redford (Fredonia) and Andrew Kruszka (Gowanda) won individual Sportsmanship Awards, while Nelson Estrade and Anthony Ruiz were co-winners for Dunkirk. Yuribetl Castro (Dunkirk), Savannah Lashbrook (Fredonia) and Kala Farly (Gowanda) were the individual Sportsmanship Award winners for the girls. Gowanda won the Team Sportsmanship award for both the Boys and Girls teams.

Silver Creek featured seven runners on the Small Schools All Stars list, highlighted by First-Team selection Jaylah Cossin for the girls.

See ALL STARS, Page B3

Cossin’s teammate Ellen Decker made the Second Team, while Julia Kennedy, Daisy League, Lily League and Grace Restivo were all Honorable Mention selections. Riley Wilson of the Silver Creek Boys was also an Honorable Mention selection. The runners of the year were Michael Peppy (Maple Grove) for the boys and Abby Gostomski (Cattaraugus/Little Valley) for the girls. Ryan Rocque and Grace Restivo were the Sportsmanship Award winners for Silver Creek.