Adams, Matteson champs in Runner of the Year series

Submitted Photos Brooke Adams, seen here, and Steve Matteson won the UPMC Chautauqua WCA Runners of the Year Series Championship.

Brooke Adams repeated and Steve Matteson claimed his first UPMC Chautauqua WCA Runners of the Year Series Championship.

For Adams, this was the fourth straight year she has won the top female runner title. Steve Matteson captured his first men’s title after a five year run by Adam Rowe.

The series is sponsored by UPMC Chautauqua WCA and crowns the area’s best runners through a year-long road race competition. Kathy Gustafson and John Gustafson remained the top Masters (40 and Older) runners. The races that made up the 2017 series were as follows:

1. March 18, St. Patrick’s Dash; 2. May 28, Bemus Point Sunset 5K; 3. July 1, Marauder Trotter; 4. July 15, Laurel Run; 5. July 29, Wild 5K; 6. Aug. 5, Dunkirk Lakefront; 7. Aug. 19, The Relief Zone 10K; 8. Sept. 4, Daniel Feather Memorial; 9. Sept. 24, Bemus Point 15K; 10. Oct. 21, Heritage Trick & Trot 5K; 11. Nov. 25, Amy’s Run.

Here are the final top ten female rankings for 2017: 1. Brooke Adams, 2. Kathy Gustafson, 3. Karen Fuller-Markham, 4. Mindy Lawson-Crabtree, 5. Sherri McCall, 6. Katie Zwald, 7. Kim Vona, 8. Ericka Alm, 9. Sarah Lefford, 10. Kylee Witchy-Clements.

Steve Matteson

These are the top ten male rankings for 2017: 1. Stephen Matteson, 2. Adam Rowe, 3. John Gustafson, 4. Gregory Brink and Anthony Ruiz (tied), 6. Raymond Graf, 7. Owen Vincent, 8. Adam Sundholm, 9. Joe Campbell and Juma Khisa (tied).