Falcon Club wins Tofil bowling tourney

The 48th annual John S. Tofil Memorial Bowling Inter Club Bowling Tournament was held Saturday at Lucky Lanes. This year, nine local clubs were each represented by 16 bowlers. The host club was the First Ward Falcon Club. The winning club this year was also the First Ward Falcon Club, followed by the Beaver Club, Moniuszko Club, Columbus Club and the Dunkirk Lakeside Club. Derek Bixby claimed the Lou Nocek Award with a high series of 741. The tourney’s high game was a 280 shot by Tom Haase and Matt Weaver. Spencer Johnson (715), Todd Ellman (712) and Mike Lucas (705) also shot for honor scores on the day. The clubs will participate in this event again next March, when it will be hosted by the Beaver Club.