Baseball All-Stars named

Schrader, Walters win awards in CCAA West 1 list

OBSERVER File Photos Above, Fredonia’s Seth Schrader slides into base, and below, Fredonia’s Derrick Walters throws a pitch. Schrader was named Player of the Year on the CCAA West Division 1 baseball All-Star team, while Walters was named Pitcher of the Year.

Fredonia, Dunkirk, Chautauqua Lake and Silver Creek all had a bunch of players named to the CCAA West Division I All-Star baseball team this week.

Fredonia had its season cut the shortest it’s been in seven years, but they had a lot of athletes take home accolades following the season. After winning the CCAA West I title with a perfect 12-0 record, the Hillbillies’ Seth Schrader and Derrick Walters both earned massive achievements.

Schrader was tabbed with the division’s Player of the Year for 2018. Back on May 12, Schrader was the only hitter to record multiple hits in a 2-1 win over Chautauqua Lake. The win clinched the perfect division record for the season, and gave the Hillbillies a nice momentum boost heading into the postseason.

Walters was a standout all season long on the mound, earning him the division’s Pitcher of the Year. On May 9, Walters pitched a no-hitter in an 11-0 win over Silver Creek. The win not only gave his team another win, but also clinched his coach Vince Gullo’s 300th win. Walters also pitched a complete nine inning game in the Class B1 semifinals in a win over Depew, putting his team in position to win another Class B1 title before falling short of the feat.

Fredonia (16-2) also added more all stars to go beside Schrader and Walters. Joining them on the first team were senior catcher Ryan Mroczka, senior Reid Tarnowski, Trey Swartz, and Tyler Winchell. Outfielder Nolan Mages was named to the second team All-Stars.

Silver Creek (14-8) made it the furthest from the CCAA West I this season, by making a postseason run all the way to the Far West Regional after winning the Section VI title over No. 1 seeded Allegany-Limestone 9-5. Silver Creek was led by first team All-Stars. Zach Rybak, Sam Mullen, and Tom Galfo. Alex Bogosian, Stephen Romanik, and Spencer Harford were added to the second team All-Stars.

Chautauqua Lake (5-11) had their moments this season, as well. The Thunderbirds were led by first team all stars Kyler Majka and Devin Pope to the Class C regional quarter finals before they were defeated by Allegany-Limestone 11-0. Nathan Engdahl was added as an honorable mention along with his teammates.

Dunkirk (5-15) had a young team this season, but they added valuable experience in playing some big schools throughout the year. The Marauders got three second team all stars including Peyton Ahlstrom, Jared Glowniak, and Phillip Messina. Dunkirk will look forward to the immediate future with all of their young talent.

The full list of players follows:


Player of the Year, Seth Schrader, Fredonia

Pitcher of the Year, Derrick Walters, Fredonia

Team Sportsmanship Award, Falconer

1st Team

Derrick Walters, Fredonia

Kyler Majka, Chaut. Lake

Zach Rybak, Silver Creek

Sam Mullen, Silver Creek

Ryan Mroczka, Fredonia

Cole Snyder, Southwestern

Seth Schrader, Fredonia

Reid Tarnowski, Fredonia

Devin Pope, Chaut. Lake

Mitchell Pascarella, Southwestern

Trey Swartz, Fredonia

Luke Heil, Southwestern

Tyler Winchell, Fredonia

Tom Galfo, Silver Creek

Nate Abbey, Falconer

2nd Team

Daren Vaillancourt, Maple Grove

Peyton Ahlstrom, Dunkirk

Jared Glowniak, Dunkirk

Phillip Messina, Dunkirk

Brian Burns, Southwestern

Easton Tanner, Maple Grove

Bobby Samuelson, Falconer

Alex Bogosian, Silver Creek

Tyler Olson, Falconer

Stephen Romanik, Silver Creek

Zak Trim, Maple Grove

Nolan Mages, Fredonia

Spencer Harford, Silver Creek

Honorable Mention

Nathan Engdahl, Chaut. Lake

Alex Ahlstrom, Koty Leeper, Dunkirk

Trent Wood, Matt Gullotti, Falconer

Anthony Gullo, Alec Schrader, Fredonia

Trevor Hudson, Maple Grove

Jon Pulver, Silver Creek

Aidan Kennedy, Southwestern