Yacht Club announces awards, officers

Submitted photo Pictured are Dunkirk Yacht Club 2022 board members. From left are: Carl Hamann, Chris Piede, Larry VanDeusen, Ken Kuwik, Jeff Tinstman, Tom Safford, Brett Christy and Dennis Wolfe.

The Dunkirk Yacht Club installed the 2022 officers and directors at their Fall Banquet at Katerina’s on the Lake on Saturday, Nov. 6. Carl Lis, Past Commodore, made opening remarks and blessings, while acknowledging the four members who have passed away this year. These members include Al DeJonghe, Chet Bates, Pat Damore and Jim Atkins. Outgoing Commodore Dennis Wolfe thanked everyone for a successful year at the club.

Tracy Smith-Dengler organized a basket giveaway which sent many home happy for the evening.

The new Commodore, Carl Hamann, recognized new life members and congratulated the following; Brett Christy, Wayne Jones, and Corny Benchley.

The annual “T” Cup trophy, awarded for boating achievement this year, was given to Don Gee for his countless hours for helping and repairing of the docks at the club. The always coveted “Sloppy Sailor” award was awarded to Kirk Frey. Frey entertained the crowd with the story of how he was nominated acting in his defense of his actions. A boating tip for all: have your keys on a floating key ring!

The slate of officers for the 2022 season include Jay Bishop (Rear Commodore), George Burns III (Social Committee), Alan Freville (Education), Carl Hamann (Commodore), Greg Kowal (Secretary), Chris Piede (Race and Recreation), Tom Safford (Membership), Jeff Tinstman (Facilities), Brett Christy (Vice Commodore), Carl Waclawski, Dennis Wolfe (Past Commodore) and Kathy Woodard (House.) Also included in appointed positions for the 2022 season are Larry Van Deusen (Webmaster), Ken Kuwik (Dockmaster) and Chris/Tonia Piede (newsletter).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today