Westfield-Mayville Rotary highlights its youth services

Honoring 37 outstanding area high school students for their many achievements, offering $2,800 in scholarships to eight deserving high school graduating seniors, developing the leadership skills of four young adults, and fostering the spirit of volunteerism with a local high school service organization are a few of the ways that the Rotary Club of Westfield-Mayville and its Youth Services Committee have supported area youth during this past club year. This Rotary club supports the communities of Brocton, Mayville, Ripley, Sherman, and Westfield.

Dan Smith, Westfield-Mayville Rotary Club Youth Services Chair, proudly stated, “Our Rotary Club has a history of helping local teens and young adults in several ways. Our club members are committed to assisting with the advancement of our youth through various programs and scholarships. We recognize that the youth are assets to their communities, and that they are our future leaders.”

During this past club year, this Rotary club gave special recognition to 37 high school students from four area school districts, when these students were honored as “Scholars of the Month.” The honorees, who were nominated by school officials, and their parents were invited to attend a dinner and special program.

The 2018-2019 Westfield-Mayville Rotary “Scholars of the Month” and their respective high schools were as follow: Brocton Central School District: Madeline Brogan, Dylan Murphy, Joshua Powell, Jayla Doner, MaryAnne Hosmer, Riley Rivera, Laura Johnston, Gregory Lapp, and Ronald Brown; Chautauqua Lake Central School District: Megan Strine, Hannah Roush, Megan Brown, Emily Phelps, Abigail Henry, Shannon McKee, Patricia Dudley, Chadelynn Johnson, Sydney Gleason, and Megan Snider;

Sherman Central School District: Gabrielle Carris, Chance Meeder, Gwen Chase, Haley Silka, Kourtney Ames, Josie Allen, Teddi Hayes, and Bekha Watson; and Westfield Academy and Central School District: Olivia Clamp, Marilynn Amborski, Austin Bourgeois, Olivia Kitchen, Sophia DeMarco, Noah Knappenberger, Tyler Miles, Jessica Morse, Bethany Schaaf, and Grace Bodenmiller.

Eight Westfield-Mayville Rotary Club Scholarship recipients and the Westfield-Mayville Rotarians who presented their awards were as follow: Brocton CSD: Madeline Brogan and Dylan Murphy, presented by Rotarian Janese Berkhouse; Chautauqua Lake CSD: Abigail Henry and Brian Nelson, awarded by Rotarian Mary Swanson; Sherman CSD: Gwen Chase and Bekah Watson, given by Rotarian Dan Smith; and Westfield Academy and CSD: Grace Herr and Austin Bourgeois, presented by Rotarian Barbara Fay.

In addition, four high school students were sponsored by the Westfield-Mayville Rotary Club to attend a May 3-5, 2019 weekend leadership camp experience called “SLAPSHOT” or “Student Leadership Award Program for Students High On Training” in Ancaster, Ontario, Canada. These future leaders and their respective schools were Christine Wdowiasz, Brocton CSD: Jackson Janicki and Alexander Godfrey, Chautauqua Lake CSD; and Jessi Rickerson, Westfield Academy and CSD.

Also, Interact Clubs are the high school service organizations which are affiliated with Rotary International. The Westfield-Mayville Rotary Club bids farewell to Brocton Interactors Madeline Brogan and Dylan Murphy, who graduated this year and who were involved with the Brocton Interact Club’s various service projects.

Rotary Youth Leadership Awards or RYLA is a week-long personal development seminar for young adults of the ages of 19 to 27. This year’s program was held June 9-15 at SUNY Fredonia. Though the Westfield-Mayville Rotary Club was once again willing to sponsor a RYLA program attendee, it did not receive applications from interested potential participants. RYLA applicants should have demonstrated ability as leaders in their communities and have a desire to participate in a week-long leadership, communications, and personal development opportunity, while staying in a college dorm with about 40 other “RYLArians.” Next spring, the Westfield-Mayville Rotary Club looks forward to receiving applications from those interested in the June 2020 RYLA program.

The Westfield-Mayville Rotary Club, which is affiliated with Rotary International and Rotary District 7090, is celebrating its 90th year of service. Rotary’s guiding principles include the Four-way Test (Truth, Fairness, Goodwill, and Friendship). Other principles involve Rotary’s commitment to its motto of “Service Above Self,” which is channeled through its Five Avenues of Service: Club, Vocational, Community, International, and New Generations. The Westfield-Mayville Rotary is seeking potential new members. For more information, contact Pete Bills, Club Membership Chair, at 326-2227.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)