Sundquist sworn in as Jamestown’s 25th mayor

Photo by Dennis Phillips Eddie Sundquist, Jamestown mayor, being sworn in during an inauguration ceremony held at the Scharmann Theatre at Jamestown Community College Wednesday. Sundquist is the 25th mayor of the city of Jamestown.

JAMESTOWN — For the first time in 20 years, Jamestown has a new mayor.

On Wednesday, Eddie Sundquist was sworn in as the 25th mayor of the “Pearl City” during an inauguration ceremony held at the Scharmann Theater at Jamestown Community College. Sundquist replaced former Mayor Sam Teresi, who served the city for 20 years and decided to not run for re-election.

In November, Sundquist, a Democrat, defeated Republican candidate David Wilfong and Libertarian candidate Andrew Liuzzo. Sundquist is a local attorney at the law firm Lewis & Lewis in the city. Growing up in the area, he attended Jamestown High School where he graduated in 2007.

Sundquist during his inauguration speech, said the city faces many challenges, but he wanted to focus on the positives during his remarks. He said Jamestown has dedicated people who have grit and compassion and have persevered through the 134-year history of the city.

“We are one city built by incredible people,” he said.

Sundquist said the people of the city are going to have to repeat the great innovations of the past like the creation of the “Furniture Capital of the World” and starting the Jamestown Board of Public Utilities in order to succeed in the years ahead.

“Now more than ever, we need to get creative to grow and expand our city,” he said.

Sundquist said the people of the city will carry Jamestown into a more prosperous time by working as one.

“Let’s start this journey together,” he said to close his speech.

Sundquist’s first action as the city’s new mayor was to make appointments to several city boards and commissions. New city department head appointments include Rudi Andalora, who was named city clerk/treasurer; Crystal Surdyk, who was appointed development director; and Elliot Raimondo, who was named corporation counsel/human resources. Jeff Lehman will remain public works director and Joseph Bellitto will stay on as comptroller until his retirement later this year.

Sundquist replaced three current members of the Jamestown Board of Public Utilities. New members include Gregory Anderson, Lana Huston and Kenneth Mark, whom will be replacing Martha Zenns, Terrence Horner and Ralph Wallace. Marie Carrubba, Ward 4 councilwoman, was re-appointed to the BPU, as a member of the council. New councilman Grant Olson, Ward 5, was also appointed to the BPU.

Other appointments include Ellen Ditonto, who will remain as the city Zoning Board of Appeals chairwoman. New appointments to the zoning board include Timothy Smeal and Stephen Sorg. Additional new appointment includes Michael Laurin to the city Planning Commission; and Peter Schiera and Margaret Kaltenmeier to the Jamestown Local Development Corp.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today