List of appointments at city schools approved

The Dunkirk Board of Education confirmed a sizable slate of appointments last week for the 2022-23 school year.

The appointments mostly cover extracurricular activities and extra duties that draw stipends.

One important appointment not in those categories was Brigette Kurtz as chair of the English as a new language department. She was named to the post until June 30, 2025.

A number of program coordinators were named. Corinna Hooge will be coordinating the migrant student and professional development programs and is also the Dunkirk district’s chief privacy officer. Other coordinator appointments include: Josh Tedone, alternative education program; David Boyda, health and physical education; Stephanie Berghold and Danielle Russell, literacy; Rebecca Farwell, STEAM; Daniel Genovese, elementary supervisor; and Kisun Peters, universal pre-kindergarten.

Morning school supervisors also got appointed by the board Tuesday. William Barnes, Sarah Crane and Shanessa Escobar were named for School 3. Over at School 5, it’s Julie Lawrie and Colleen McDonald, while School 7 gets Jacqueline Dloniak, Anna Fred and Karen Willis.

The intermediate school (grades 3-6) supervisors are Kyle Adams, Marcy Bartlett, Carolyn Crangle, Brian Crawford, Marie Damico, Heather Flores, Jennifer Haase, Kimberly Levan, Kyle Marvin, Donna Milson, Mario Muscarella and Alexander Phillips.

Over at Dunkirk Junior-Senior High School, which houses grades 7-12, morning supervisors are Anna Alvira, Laura DeBicki, Jillian Domenico, Andrea Guenther, Kyle Jarrell, Renee Pasquale, Helena Rankin and Vincent Vecchio.

Phillip Cook and Kelly Fetterick are the pool directors. Liza Czarnecki is running afternoon detention for grades 7-8. That role is filled by Andrea Guenther for grades 9-12. Michael Burnett has morning detention for grades 9-12.

Advisors for grades 7-8 activities include Kimberly Levin for the musical; Laura Debicki for the school paper; Ian Hill, steel drums; and Connor Aitcheson and Miriam Lugo-Alfaro as student council advisors.

Class advisors at the high school level are Michael Green and Tricia Green, grade 9; Michelle Gilmour and Kyle Jarrell, grade 10; Connor Aitcheson and Inez Gonzalez, grade 11; and Jennifer Lancaster and Brittany Sortisio, grade 12.

Extracurricular advisors in grades 9-12 include Sarah Burnett for the Citizen newspaper; Frank Torain for the color guard and for the step and drill team; Kimberly Delgado and Miriam Lugo-Alfaro, National Honor Society; Mary Allaire-Gifford, Gay-Straight Alliance; Anna Alvira and Jillian Domenico for the Ivy Tower yearbook and for photography; Jeannie VanWey, play director; Vincent Vecchio, senior awards; and Jillian Domenico and Megan Larivey, student council.

The Dunkirk Board of Education also approved resignations of two teacher aides and an art teacher Tuesday. The resignation of aide Nilmary Rodriguez was effective Sept. 1. Aide Amanda Ippolito and the teacher, Shelby Jeras, are resigning as of Sept. 21 and Sept. 27, respectively.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today