Scouts’ honors: member achievements are saluted

Submitted photo Some members of the Fredonia Scout Troop 267 pose for a picture in December after receiving honors.

Fredonia’s Scout Troop 267, sponsored by American Legion Post 59 in Fredonia, held a Court of Honor in December. The Court of Honor ceremony began with the Advancement of Colors, the Pledge of Allegiance, recitation of the Scout Oath and Scout law led by Master of Ceremonies, Senior Patrol Leader (SPL) Samuel Bowers, Life Scout.

Chaplain Walter Sedlmayer shared the opening prayer. Committee Chairperson Cynthia Smith welcomed the Scouts and their families. SPL Bowers turned the Court of Honor over the Scoutmaster James Stenger who awarded rank advancements. Nathan Balch, Jethduan Cordova-Olmo and Henry Hegna all promoted to the Tenderfoot rank. Charlie Cinque and Adam Lukach promoted to First Class.

Scoutmaster Stenger announced forty-one merit badges were earned since the Court of Honor held in August. TJ Ackley earned the Bird Study and Public Health merit badges. Nathan Balch and Jethduan Cordova-Olma earned Bird Study, Mammal Study and Public Health. Samuel Bowers and Jack Spengler earned Bird Study, Disabilities Awareness, Indian Lore and Public Health. Matthew Brown earned Bird Study, Forestry and Public Health. Aaron Cook earned Digital Technology, Electronics and Public Health. Ryan Cook earned the Public Health merit badge and Henry Hegna earned Theater. Cortland Lehnen earned Bird Study, Citizenship in the Community, Cooking and Public Health.

Adam Lukach earned Game Design and Mammal Study. Evan Pelletter earned the Fishing merit badge and Ryan Proffitt earned Scuba Diving. Riley Smith Mallon earned the Public Health merit badge.

Ledreth Velez-Olmo and Lenieth Velez-Olmo both earned Bird Study, Digital Technology and Public Health. Isaac Williams earned Citizenship in the Community and Tasha Kemp earned Disabilities Awareness. Scoutmaster Stenger congratulated the Scouts on all their hard work and thanked all the merit badge counselors for their work with the troop.

Scoutmaster Stenger awarded the 50th Anniversary Environmental Protection Agency Emblem to TJ Ackley, Samuel Bowers, Matthew Brown, Riley Smith Mallon, Jack Spengler, Ledreth Velez-Olmo and Lenieth Velez-Olmo. The 50th Anniversary Environmental Protection Agency Emblem is a new award recognizing youth who research and learn about the subjects of human health and the environment, as the EPA develops its vision for the next 50 years.

Jethduan Cordova-Olmo was awarded next by Scoutmaster Stenger with the Interpreter Strip (Spanish). Alex Biscaro, Ryan Proffitt and Cooper Stenger earned the BSA Scuba Emblem. Calder Annear and Matthew Brown earned the 100 Nights of Camping achievement. Riley Smith Mallon achieved the Bronze Eagle Palm. In 2021, Samuel Bowers, Cortland Lehnen, Ryan Proffitt, Jack Spengler and Cooper Stenger were inducted into the Order of the Arrow.

Service stars were presented to three scouts: Henry Hegna, one year; Ryan Proffitt, three years; Joseph Bowers, seven years. In addition, the troop recognized three volunteers and presented service stars to Jim Stenger, 3 years; Walter Sedlmayer, 19 years; and Chris Eichmann, 39 years. Troop 267 is grateful for their unending support and hours of service they have dedicated on behalf of the troop’s continued success.

The recognition of outgoing officers and the induction of new officers who hold leadership positions for the troop were announced. The closing ceremonies were led by newly inducted SPL Ryan Proffitt who asked to Retire the Colors.

Troop 267 meets Mondays at 7 p.m. at Memorial Post 59, 156 E. Main St. in Fredonia, and is open to all boys and girls who are at least 11 years of age or have completed the fifth grade. For more information about the troop and how to join, visit the troop’s website at https://www.fredoniatroop267.com.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today