HEAD OF THE CLASS: Night honors educators, partners, students

Jeanne Oag with retiring Cassadaga Valley Central Schools Superintendent Chuck Leichner.

The Chautauqua County School Boards Association held its Annual Meeting and Honors Night at Chautauqua Harbor Hotel in Celoron on May 23. Raymond J. Fashano, executive director, welcomed the honored students, their families and friends, administrators, staff and school board members from each of the Chautauqua County school districts and the Erie 2 Chautauqua-Cattaraugus BOCES.

There were four different musical talents from four different school districts. Lucy Colburn (Southwestern) played her flute, while Esther Knappenberger (Westfield), Kadyn Abers (Panama), and a group of 14 elementary students from Sinclairville Elementary all sang two numbers each for the attendees of the event.

The Honor students were recognized by Fashano assisted by President Sylvester Cleary (E2CCB) and First Vice President Wendy Dyment (Westfield). The students gave a brief statement about their accomplishments and future plans. Each received a certificate and memento from the CCSBA.

The Honor Students are:

BOCES (HEWES): Kairi Williams

Sylvester Cleary, Chautauqua County School Boards Association president, left, and Ray Fashano, association Executive Director, with Dennis Webster, center.

BOCES (LOGUIDICE): Jessica Didas

BEMUS POINT: Alexandra Gren and Elizabeth Lai

BROCTON: Jenna Johnson and Karina Hernandez Cruz

CASSADAGA VALLEY: Dana Maze and Garrett Williams

CHAUTAUQUA LAKE: Alexandra Reyda and Natalie Gilkinson

CLYMER: Isabella Magness and Austin White

DUNKIRK: Courtney Zatorski and Jessica Navarro

FALCONER: Alex Reynolds and Curtis Hannon

FORESTVILLE: Gabrielle VanZile and Mackenzy Graziano

FREDONIA: Alexander Weiss and Josephine Tomaszewski

FREWSBURG: Zackery Carr and Teresa Mole

JAMESTOWN: Emylia Hallberg and Aubrey Reynolds

PANAMA: Leanne Lisciandro and Peyton Range

PINE VALLEY: Allyson Morey and Sophia Jones

SHERMAN: Brayden Hayes and Cora Goldberg

SILVER CREEK: Peyton Brennan and Ryleigh Lawton

SOUTHWESTERN: Madison Cresanti and Julia Meyers

WESTFIELD: Makartnee Mortimer and Thayne Bodenmiller IV

Jeanne Oag from Cassadaga Valley Central School was the recipient of the Board Member of the Year Award. Oag has been an active CVCS board member since 2007 and is very active in district activities and supporting the district and its staff and students as a whole.

Dennis Webster of Media One Radio Group and WJTN received the Friend of Education Award. Dennis has been a radio announcer on WJTN in Jamestown for over 40 years and has had many educational involvements over the years.

The Falconer Central School Board of Education was the recipient of the School Board Professional Development Award. Board of Education members leaving service were also recognized.

Todd Crandall, retiring Superintendent of Silver Creek Central School and President of Far West Council of School Superintendents (FWCOSS) presented scholarship awards to a student from each participating district.

The recipients are:

BOCES (HEWES): Kairi Williams

BOCES (LOGUIDICE): Jessica Didas

BEMUS POINT: Elizabeth Quadt

BROCTON: Bianca Walker



CLYMER: Austin White

DUNKIRK: Courtney Zatorski

FALCONER: Michaela Olson

FORESTVILLE: Gabrielle VanZile

FREDONIA: Nathaniel Cosico

FREWSBURG: Micah Barber

JAMESTOWN: Liam Conroe

PANAMA: Lillian Odell

PINE VALLEY: Molly Sunick

SHERMAN: Brayden Hayes

SILVER CREEK: Ryleigh Lawton

SOUTHWESTERN: Elizabeth Kane

WESTFIELD: Esther Knappenberger

Fashano recognized Corporate Sponsor representatives in attendance from Young & Wright Architectural, NYSIR, and C&S Companies. He thanked all corporate sponsors for their support as well as the Holiday Harbor Hotel.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today