Sophomore Nelson, Ramsey share co-MVPs in Division 2 West

OBSERVER Photo In this file photo, Julio Torres of Westfield finds a lane to the basket during a regular season game. Torres was selected to the 2018 CCAA Division 2 West Second-Team.

OBSERVER Staff Report

The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 West basketball all-stars were announced recently, with Brad Nelson of Frewsburg and Tanner Ramsey of Sherman sharing Most Valuable Player award honors.

Sherman coach Cory Emory has been selected as Coach of the Year after leading the Wildcats to a 16-6 season, while Ramsey aided Sherman with 15.8 points, 4.9 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 3.2 steals per contest in his senior season.

Nelson averaged 17.4 points, 5.1 rebounds, 2.4 assists and one steal per contest during his sophomore season with the Bears, who finished at 12-10.

Joining Nelson and Ramsey on the first team are Sherman senior Jared Gleason, Panama sophomore Cameron Barmore, Sherman junior Mike Beatman and Frewsburg junior Quinn Conlan.

Clymer has earned the team sportsmanship award.

First Team

Tanner Ramsey, Sherman

Brad Nelson, Frewsburg

Jared Gleason, Sherman

Cameron Barmore, Panama

Mike Beatman, Sherman

Quinn Conlan, Frewsburg

See ALL STARS, Page B2

Second Team

Dustin Neckers, Clymer

Connor Crabtree, Cassadaga Valley

Ronald Brown, Brocton

Michael Johnson, Westfield

Julio Torres, Westfield

Honorable Mention

Brocton: Riley Rivera

Clymer: Lucas Beckerink, Zavon Overton, Jordan Wade, Gerrit Hinsdale

Cassadaga Valley: David Peterson

Frewsburg: Aaron Hair, Tyler Marchincin

Panama: Mitch Hovey, Jack Sperry, Thomas Delahoy, Dominic Spontaneo

Sherman: Chance Meeder, Kam Ayers

Westfield: Shawn Horr, Ryan Jafarjian, Andrew Baribeau