Gullo, Palcic named to Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame

Vince Gullo

JAMESTOWN — The Board of Directors of the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame is proud to announce the inductees who will comprise the Class of 2019. The living inductees are Cheryl Bailey, Tiffany Decker, Vince Gullo, Mike Lopriore, Bob Palcic and Mark Weaver. The deceased honorees are Jack Harper, Charles Johnston and Luella Kye.

Gullo, a graduate of Fredonia Central High School, has been the head baseball coach at Fredonia since 2002 and has posted a 305-106-1 record over his tenure. Gullo has won nine CCIAC league championships, ten Section VI titles, five Far West Regionals and two NYS Class B championships in 2006 and 2013. Gullo was named NYS Class B Coach of the Year in 2006 and 2013 and has coached seven All-Western NY players in his career.

Palcic, a graduate of Cardinal Mindszenty High School in Dunkirk, has coached football at all levels, including college and professional. Palcic coached football at the University of Dayton, Ball State, University of Wisconsin, University of Arizona, Ohio State University, University of Southern California, University of California Los Angeles, Southern Methodist University. Palcic also spent 12 years in the NFL, coaching with Atlanta Falcons, Detroit Lions, Cleveland Browns and the New Orleans Saints. He also spent two seasons in the CFL with the Toronto Argonauts. In total, Palcic coached in 12 college bowl games, four NFL playoff games, and two Grey Cups.

Johnston, coached the tennis team at Fredonia Central High School from 1962-1989. Johnston holds a career record of 374-47 as coach, which went along with seven undefeated seasons. Johnston won 13 Section VI championships and won NYS Coach of the Year in 1982. Johnston was elected to the Fredonia Wall of Fame in 2003.

These nine individuals will be formally inducted at the CSHOF’s 38th annual banquet, Monday, Feb. 18 at the Lakewood Rod and Gun Club. The new honorees will bring the total number of CSHOF inductees to 200.

Tickets for the induction dinner are priced at $50. 2019 banquet reservations can be made by calling chairman Chip Johnson at 716-485-6991.