Gowanda’s Olson named Div. 1 East Player of the Year

OBSERVER Staff Report

After a senior season in which Gowanda’s Tanner Olson earned Honorable Mention on the All-WNY baseball list after leading his team to a berth in the Section VI, Class B2 final, Olson was recently given yet another notable honor.

Gowanda’s Olson was named the CCAA Division 1 East baseball division’s Player of the Year. Olson also headlines the division’s First Team All-Stars, with a pair of his Gowanda teammates also earning First Team honors — outfielder Zack Smith and infielder Gavin Phillips, a ninth grader. Gowanda outfielders Justin Kohn and Cole Herman, an eighth grader, were named to the All Star Second Team, while John Ondus and Bryan Zynda represented the Panthers as Honorable Mentions.

Gowanda’s three selections were tied with Olean for the most on the First Team All-Stars. Olean’s Nick Crandall joined Olson on the pitching staff, with Olean’s Jarret Prizel as the First Team catcher. Salamanca’s Lukas McKenna, Portville’s Brandon Murray, Allegany-Limestone’s Ben Giardini, Olean’s Jack Dwaileebe, Portville’s Cameron Lott and Cattaraugus/Little Valley’s Sam Grey also earned First Team honors. The First Team’s designated hitter was Allegany-Limestone’s Dany Stayer.

Joining Gowanda’s Kohn and Herman on the Second Team were Allegany-Limestone pitcher Ethan Paul, Portville catcher Michael Stillman, Allegany-Limestone’s Logan Klice, Olean’s Jason Brooks, Catt./Little Valley’s Kyle Germain, Portville’s Nathan Petryszak and Salamanca’s Jarrett McKenna. Andrew Colburn from Salamanca was the DH for the Second Team.

Allegany-Limestone’s duo of Travis Maguire and Weston Stevenson, along with Catt./Little Valley’s Shane O’Neill, Olean’s Nick Fratercangelo, Portville’s Nathan Klock and Salamanca’s Zach Helms joined Ondus and Zynda as the Honorable Mentions.