Lady Eagles named All-Stars

North Collins’ Holmes, Winter make CCAA Div. 2 East First Team

OBSERVER Photo by Braden Carmen North Collins’ Becky Holmes delivers a pitch during a Section VI, Class D playoff softball game against the Forestville Lady Hornets, at Forestville High School. Holmes was selected to the 2019 CCAA Division 2 East First Team All-Star softball team.

OBSERVER Staff Report

Coming into the season, North Collins was tasked with replacing All-State pitcher Rebecca Cyrek after back-to-back trips to the State Final Four. The Lady Eagles turned to Becky Holmes in the circle, and she rewarded North Collins with an appearance in the Class D title game.

Holmes and Emily Winter of North Collins highlight the CCAA Division 2 East All-Star softball teams, released earlier this week. North Collins also had Myah Gabel and Morgan Smith on the Second Team, with Makenna Williams and Selena Maciejewski listed as Honorable Mentions.

The Pine Valley Lady Panthers had their own representative on the First Team in sophomore Morgan Sandy. Pine Valley also had a pair of Second Teamers, junior Haley Campbell and freshman Trista Farnham, while Payton Swanson and Malori Waag were Honorable Mentions.

MaKena Adams of Frewsburg was given Player of the Year honors, with Coach of the Year going to Frewsburg’s Jon Blanchard.

OBSERVER Photo by Braden Carmen North Collins’ Emily Winter follows through on a swing during a Section VI, Class D playoff softball game, at Forestville High School. Winter was selected to the 2019 CCAA Division 2 East First Team All-Star softball team.

The rest of the First Team consisted of Elise Sposato from Frewsburg; Jocelyn Watt and Makenna Smith from Ellicottville; Abby McCoy and Renee Szymanski from Franklinville; and the Randolph trio of Mya Abrams, Abbigail Mansfield and Brynn Pagett.

Frewsburg’s Ashley Carlson, Peyton Yost, Kiah Johnson and Reagan Chitester all made the Second Team All-Stars. The rest of the Second Team included Lavani Johnson from Randolph, Linnea Jimerson of Ellicottville and Dani Haskell from Franklinville.

Also receiving Honorable Mention were Frewsburg’s Sam Smith and Riley Chitester, Nikole Lockwood of Randolph, Ellicottville’s trio of Jenna Hadley, Camryn Early, and Courtney Sexton; and Franklinville’s Abby Burrely and Tawnie Bowers.

The Team Sportsmanship award was awarded to Randolph, while the Individual Sportsmanship awards went to Lian Eng from Frewsburg, Kira Lewis from Randolph, Jill Insalaco from North Collins, Jessica Jimerson from Ellicottville, Sara Wright from Franklinville and Malori Waag from Pine Valley.