CCAA North names its All-Star teams

OBSERVER File Photo Above, North Collins’ Morgan Smith sets a ball during a match against Dunkirk earlier this season. Smith helped the Lady Eagles go undefeated in the CCAA North division and earned an All-Star honorable mention.

The North Collins Lady Eagles volleyball team rolled through the Section VI CCAA North division with a perfect 16-0 record, so it comes to no surprise that several of the Lady Eagles received high honors on the All-Star lists that were recently announced. Deanne Wilson was named the League MVP and Makenna Williams was named to the first team. The duo was the driving force behind North Collins’ success as Wilson had an impressive 221 kills and Williams had a whopping 388 assists. Morgan Smith and Michaela Rice also earned honors for North Collins as they were named to the second team.

The only team that Gowanda could not beat this year was North Collins as they finished with a strong 14-2 division record. The Lady Panthers were led by senior Marleah Stevens and junior Miya Scanlan, both were named to first team for their accomplishments. Mackenzie Carroll was also named to the second team for Gowanda.

Cassadaga Valley finished third in the division with a 12-4 record and were led by their upperclassmen. Seniors Heidi Williams and Meghan LeBaron made first team and junior Brielle LeBaron earned an honorable mention.

Fredonia was the only other team to have two first team players as a very young roster finished with a 9-7 record in the division. Fredonia’s only senior Nagely Vazquez was named to first team and junior Anna Valone also made first team.

Kiera Brennan of Silver Creek rounded out the rest of first team as she led the Black Knights to a 6-10 record.

OBSERVER File Photo Above, Lady Cougar Meghan LeBaron hits a ball during a game earlier this season. LeBaron was named a first team all-star.

The second team all-stars also included Sadie Fadale of Pine Valley, Nadara O’Dell of Dunkirk and Clare Kingsfield of Forestville.

Several teams had players receive honorable mentions. Westfield had three honorable mentions in senior Avery Knapp and eighth graders Tanleigh Bestine and Keara Kincaid. Westfield also received the Team Sportsmanship Award and Knapp also received the Individual Sportsmanship Award. The remainder of the honorable mentions were senior Paola Rodriguez of Dunkirk and senior Ashley Forbes of Forestville.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)