Gowanda places 3 on CCAA Div. 2 Wrestling First Team

OBSERVER Staff Report

Maple Grove led the way with five grapplers honored as Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 wrestling coaches recently announced their all-star team.

Lukas Baer (113 pounds), Luke Tomlinson (132 pounds), Kyle Trim (182 pounds), Jake Tomlinson (195 pounds) and Zachariah Padd (220 pounds) were all named to the First Team for the Red Dragons.

The Gowanda Panthers were not far behind, with three First Team selections. Gowanda’s Michael Horth (99 pounds), Dominik Rodriguez (145 pounds) and Everette Golden (160 pounds) all earned First Team recognition.

League champion Portville had four wrestlers named to the First Team. They were: Luke Haberly (120 pounds), Andrew DeArmitt (138 pounds), Dakota Mascho (152 pounds) and Jayden Lassiter (170 pounds).

Frewsburg’s Quinlan Smathers (106 pounds); Salamanca’s Trevor Ellis (126 pounds); and Randolph’s Ryan Carpenter (285 pounds) rounded out the First Team.

Maple Grove, led by head coach Mark Hetrick, was awarded the Team Sportsmanship Award while Cattaraugus-Little Valley’s Lizzie Hines, Frewsburg’s Braiden Waddington, Portville’s Chase Wenke, Ellis, Rodriguez, Maple Grove’s Maddie Wadsworth and Randolph’s Ryan Inkley were named Individual Sportsmanship Award winners.

CCAA Division 2 All-Stars

FIRST TEAM: Michael Horth 99 pounds Gowanda; Quinlan Smathers 106 pounds Frewsburg; Lukas Baer 113 pounds Maple Grove; Luke Haberly 120 pounds Portville; Trevor Ellis 126 pounds Salamanca; Luke Tomlinson 132 pounds Maple Grove; Andrew DeArmitt 138 pounds Portville; Dominik Rodriguez 145 pounds Gowanda; Dakota Mascho 152 pounds Portville; Everette Golden 160 pounds Gowanda; Jayden Lassiter 170 pounds Portville; Kyle Trim 182 pounds Maple Grove; Jake Tomlinson 195 pounds Maple Grove; Zachariah Padd 220 pounds Maple Grove; Ryan Carpenter 285 pounds Randolph.

SECOND TEAM: Toby Cooper 99 pounds Maple Grove; Clayton Crouse 106 pounds Randolph; Mario Pascucci 113 pounds Portville; Mathew Trim 120 pounds Maple Grove; Joseph Nottingham 126 pounds Randolph; Xander Hind 132 pounds Randolph; Kynan Egan 138 pounds Maple Grove; Jaiden Slagle 145 pounds Frewsburg; Ethan Fort 152 pounds Gowanda; John Alianell 160 pounds Frewsburg; Roland Thompson 170 pounds Portville; Dominic Suraf 182 pounds Gowanda; Julian Morales 195 pounds Portville; Devin Bialszewski 220 pounds Salamanca; Merrick Witherell 285 pounds Portville.

HONORABLE MENTION: Cattaraugus-Little Valley: Dan Briggs, Christian Hines; Frewsburg: Russell Steward; Gowanda: Ben Krajewski, Dom Suraf; Portville: Maxx DeYoe, Kirk Hall, Hunter Saltsman, Sam Zeiglar; Randolph: Ryan Inkley, Vince Migliore, Dylan Muntz, Luke Pagett; Salamanca: Devin Bialszewski, Konner Spring.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)