Wilcox captures Cassadaga CC club championship for sixth time

Submitted Photo Pictured, from left, are: Rob Lancaster, Brenton Wilcox and Sean Helmer.

CASSADAGA — Brenton Wilcox recently captured the 2020 club championship at Cassadaga Country Club.

Wilcox led wire to wire in the two-day tournament to win his sixth club championship.

Following the first day of competition, Wilcox held a five-shot lead. Mark Botticello, Dick Frost, Scott Jagoda, Tyler Lerow and Matt Wallace were tied for second. Wilcox finished the tournament posting a second consecutive 71 to secure the victory. To round out the top five, Lerow finished second, Jagoda was third, defending-champion Mike Botticello was fourth and fifth was a tie between Mark Botticello, Tim Bulger and Brad Kelly.

In the First Flight, Sean Helmer won in a playoff over Bob Warsitz. To round out the top five, Dave Bird and Dave Kobel tied for third and Derek Houser finished fifth.

In the Senior Championship, Rob Lancaster won his first championship. Paul Edson finished second followed by Dave Campola and Rusty Jones.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today