South County teams advance in CCAA tennis doubles

OBSERVER Photos by Matt Spielman Chautauqua Lake’s Elise Riedesel lines up a return during doubles action at Friday’s CCAA Tennis Championships at the Lakewood Family YMCA.

LAKEWOOD — The 12 local girls who will represent the area at the Section VI Tennis Championships are set after the second day of competition at the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Championships on Friday at the Lakewood Family YMCA.

Four doubles teams locked up their spots to compete at the Miller Tennis Center in Williamsville next Friday and Saturday after quarterfinals victories.

Southwestern’s Hiba Munir and Elizabeth Kane had a prequarterfinal bye and then beat Salamanca’s Maeghan Collins and Ashlyn Newark, 6-0, 6-1, in the quarterfinals.

Maple Grove’s Emma Collins and Ryann Hayes earned a sectional berth after beating Falconer’s Lauren Allen and Ashley Pierce, 6-4, 6-2, in the quarterfinals. Collins and Hayes topped Fredonia’s Sarah Davis and Erin Schrantz in the prequarterfinals.

Falconer’s Macy and Nicole Youngberg also had a bye into the quarterfinals where they beat Chautauqua Lake’s Elizabeth Marshaus and Abby Paulus, 6-2, 6-1.

The Thunderbirds’ Elizabeth Marshaus prepares a shot.

The final sectional spot was earned by Frewsburg’s Elise Sposato and Anjolie Sanfilippo, who beat Chautauqua Lake’s Kira Erickson and Elise Riedesel, 6-3, 6-3. Sposato and Sanfilippo topped Salamanca’s Hannah Klusek and Faith Long in the prequarterfinals.

The four doubles teams will return to the Lakewood Family YMCA today to play for the CCAA title and seeding for next weekend’s sectional tournament. They will be joined by Fredonia’s Bernie Gens, Chautauqua Lake’s Emily Bauer, Jamestown’s CeCe Eklum and Olean’s Caroline DeRose, who will be playing for the CCAA singles title as well as sectional seeding. Competition will begin at 1 p.m. this afternoon.


Maeghan Collins-Ashlyn Newark (Sa) d. Madison Smith-Mia Brown (J), 10-4; Emma Collins-Ryann Hayes (MG) d. Sarah Davis-Erin Schrantz (Fred), 10-1; Lauren Allen-Ashley Pierce (Fa) d. Olivia Bean-Collette Trudeau (O), 10-0; Elizabeth Marshaus-Abby Paulus (CL) d. Alex Gren-Eliza Dawes (MG), 10-8; Elise Sposato-Anjolie Sanfilippo (Frew) d. Hannah Klusek-Faith Long (Sa), 10-2; Kira Erickson-Elise Riedesel (CL) d. Isabella Martinelli-Hannah Nelson (O), 10-2


Hiba Munir-Elizabeth Kane (So) d. Maeghan Collins-Ashlyn Newark (Sa), 6-0, 6-1; Emma Collins-Ryann Hayes (MG) d. Lauren Allen-Ashley Pierce (Fa), 6-4, 6-2; Nicole Youngberg-Macy Youngberg (Fa) d. Elizabeth Marshaus-Abby Paulus (CL), 6-2, 6-1; Elise Sposato-Anjolie Sanfilippo (Frew) d. Kira Erickson-Elise Riedesel (CL), 6-3, 6-3


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today