CCAA cross country all-star teams announced

OBSERVER File Photos Silver Creek/Forestville’s Juliana Flick, above, was named a CCAA Cross Country Small School First-Team All-Star and Fredonia’s Ashlyn Ambrose, second, was named a Large School Second-Team All-Star.

The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association cross country all-star teams were announced this week, with Drew Carlson of Jamestown and Angelina Napoleon of Allegany-Limestone earning Large School Runner of the Year Awards.

Carlson and Napoleon both claimed indvidual victories at the CCAA All-Star Race at the Martin Road Complex, finishing in 19:41 and 16:44, respectively.

Small School Runner of the Year honors have been awarded to Lukas Baer of Maple Grove and Acacia Barber of Frewsburg. Baer finished second behind Carlon in 16:52 at Martin Road, with Barber taking second place as well in 20:11.

First-Team Large School selections include Jacob Brink, Daniel Casey and Ryan Wisniewski of Allegany-Limestone; Joe Krenzer, Joey Pillittieri, Tabby Clark, Mikaela LeBaron, Marie Lemay and Hannah Madonia of Falconer/Cassadaga Valley; Nate Lewis, Ethan Luce, Lily Nelson and Gabrielle Wigren of Southwestern; and Nya Martinelli of Olean.

First-Team Small School selections include Alex Crist, Abby Brunenavs, Ava Crsit, Tori Pavlock and Christina Peppy of Maple Grove; Cayden Hatch and Tavi Riling of Franklinville/Ellicottville; Toby Gifford and Teghan Trocki of Frewsburg; Cole Herman of Gowanda; Talon Rowland and Sydney Smith of Randolph; John Swabik of Clymer/Sherman/Panama; and Juliana Flick of Silver Creek/Forestville.

Southwestern led the boys team standings with a 15-1 season, while Maple Grove led the way for the girls at 13-0.


Large School Boys

Jacob Brink Jr. Allegany-Limestone

Daniel Casey Jr. Allegany-Limestone

Joe Krenzer Jr. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Nate Lewis Soph. Southwestern

Ethan Luce Jr. Southwestern

Joey Pillittieri Sr. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Ryan Wisniewski Sr. Allegany-Limestone

Large School Girls

Tabby Clark Sr. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Mikaela LeBaron Sr. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Marie Lemay Sr. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Hannah Madonia 8th Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Nya Martinelli Jr. Olean

Lily Nelson Sr. Southwestern

Gabrielle Wigren Jr. Southwestern


Large School Boys

Devin Austin Jr. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Griffin Bogdanowicz Soph. Southwestern

Kohl Carpenter Jr. Allegany-Limestone

Donald Higgs Jr. Allegany-Limestone

Carter McKotch Sr. Southwestern

Alex Redeye Soph. Allegany-Limestone

Trenton Shutters Jr. Southwestern

Large School Girls

Ahslyn Ambrose Jr. Fredonia

Grace Anderson Fresh. Southwestern

Rachael Birath Fresh. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Ashlyn Collins Soph. Allegany-Limestone

Sarah Elder Jr. Falconer/Cassadaga Valley

Maddie Straub Jr. Allegany-Limestone

Sara Thomas Jr. Olean


Small School Boys

Alex Crist Fresh. Maple Grove

Hatch Cayden Jr. Franklinville/Ellicottville

Toby Gifford Jr. Frewsburg

Cole Herman Soph. Gowanda

Tavi Riling Sr. Franklinville/Ellicottville

Talon Rowland Fresh. Randolph

John Swabik Sr. Clymer/Sherman/Panama

Small School Girls

Abby Brunenavs Jr. Maple Grove

Ava Crist Sr. Maple Grove

Juliana Flick Sr. Silver Creek/Forestville

Tori Pavlock Sr. Maple Grove

Christina Peppy Sr. Maple Grove

Sydney Smith Jr. Randolph

Teghan Trocki 8th Frewsburg


Large School Girls

Micah Barber Soph. Frewsburg

Juvenal Diaz Fresh. Frewsburg

Dylan Harbison Jr. Gowanda

Bryce Hinsdale 8th Clymer/Sherman/Panama

Drew Schull Soph. Gowanda

John Visnesky Jr. Cattaraugus-Little Valley

Owen White Jr. Clymer/Sherman/Panama

Small School Girls

Allison Bohall Fresh. Maple Grove

Evangeline Johnson 8th Clymer/Sherman/Panama

Daisy League Jr. Silver Creek/Forestville

Tayden Persons Fresh. Clymer/Sherman/Panama

Hannah Schauman Soph. Clymer/Sherman/Panama

Leighanne Swan Soph. Clymer/Sherman/Panama

Hannah Tarbrake Jr. Maple Grove


Large School Boys

Falconer/Cassadaga Valley: John Brockelbank (Sr.), Wyatt Harrington (Jr.)

Jamestown: Colton Cappalino (Jr.), Mason McVinney (Soph.), Jaymin Morano (Jr.)

Olean: Jack DeRose (Soph.)

Southwestern: Jaden Kinnear (Sr.), Brendan Luce (Jr.)

Allegany-Limestone: Zack Krenzel (Sr.)

Small School Boys

Frewsburg: Noah Collins (Soph.), Declan Gibbons (Jr.), Xander Pitts (Fresh.)

Cattaraugus-Little Valley: Geoffrie Eisensmith (Fresh.)

Clymer/Sherman/Panama: Braden Hayes (Fresh.), Bishop Kopta (Sr.)

Randolph: Roan Kelly (Fresh.)

Frenklinville/Ellicottville: Michael Stewart (Jr.), John Tinelli (Sr.)

Maple Grove: Sean Verbosky (Fresh.)

Large School Girls

Jamestown: Alyson Canfield (Fresh.)

Dunkirk: Siera Jacques (Soph.), Siera Porpiglia (Jr.)

Allegany-Limestone: Lindsey Kolb (Soph.), Kinsey McAfee (Jr.), Lilianna Peters (Soph.), Erin Sheehy (Fresh.)

Fredonia: Julia LeBaron (Soph.)

Southwestern: Marley Ohl (Fresh.), Clara Todd (Sr.)

Small School Girls

Silver Creek/Forestville: Emily Bowers (Fresh.), Ellie Decker (Sr.), Emma Romanik (Sr.), Melanie Wilson (Soph.)

Clymer/Sherman/Panama: Jenna Fisher (Jr.), Haley Odell (Fresh.)

Gowanda: Kayla Forthman (Sr.)

Franklinville/Ellicottville: Tarryn Herman (Jr.)

Cattaraugus-Little Valley: Emma Pocabello (Sr.)

Randolph: Gracyn Rowland (7th)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today