CCAA D1 West all-star team announced

Jason Brooks of Olean has been selected as the 2021 Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 1 West Most Valuable Player.

In his final season on the hardwood for the Huskies, Brooks averaged 21.8 points per game, helping Olean to a 12-5 record and a berth to the Section VI Class B-1 final.

Olean head coach Tim Kolasinksi has been named league Coach of the Year, and the Huskies have also earned the Team Sportsmanship Award, with Lucas Perry earning the individual honor.

Andy Herrick of Salamanca has been selected for the Byron Norton Award.

First-Team choices include Tyler Curran of Allegany-Limestone, who averaged 18.1 points per game; Lucus Brown and Jarod White of Salamanca, who averaged 18.3 and 13.1 points per game, respectively; Tyler Putney of Fredonia, who averaged 20.2 points per game and led the Hillbillies to a B-3 sectional title; and Aidan Kennedy of Southwestern. Kennedy helped the Trojans to a 9-4 mark, averaging 15.4 points per game.

Second-Team selections include Calvin Ricker of Southwestern, Kamdyn McClain and Nazion James of Olean, Christian Ortiz of Dunkirk and Mike Berg of Fredonia.


Tyler Curran Jr. Allegany Limestone

Tyler Putney Sr. Fredonia

Aidan Kennedy Jr. Southwestern

Lucus Brown Fresh. Salamanca

Jarod White Sr. Salamanca


Calvin Ricker Sr. Southwestern

Kamdyn McClain Jr. Olean

Christian Ortiz Sr. Dunkirk

Nazion James Jr. Olean

Mike Berg Sr. Fredonia


Allegany-Limestone: Anthony DeCapua, Jayden Gustafson

Dunkirk: Timothy Brown, Amarion Tell

Fredonia: Ethan Fry, Dom Gullo

Olean: Kaleb Ramadhan

Salamanca: Lucas McKenna

Southwestern: Nate Johnson, Zishan Munir


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today