Two Pine Valley girls earn First-Team honors in D2 East

The Ellicottville Eagles have come away with two top awards for the 2021 Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 East All-Star Team.

Dalayla Alexander has been named the league Player of The Year as a freshman, averaging 13.3 points per game. Eagles head coach Chelsea Cole has been named Coach of the Year, leading Ellicottville to a 11-4 record.

First-Team choices include Lyric Westlund and Trista Farnham of Pine Valley. The Panthers finished the year at 8-5, with Westlund averaging 8.2 points per game as a senior and Farnham 8.9 points per game as a junior.

Emilee Ruiz earned a First-Team honor for Ellicottville, averaging 14.6 points per game as a junior; while Franklinville junior Tarryn Herman has been selected after her 12.2 points-per-game campaign. Rounding out the First Team is Alex Minnekine of Cattaraugus-Little Valley, who scored 12.7 points, grabbed 3.8 rebounds and collected 4.5 steals per game as a junior.

Second-Team choices include Michaela Rice and Makenna Williams of North Collins; Allison Rowland of Ellicottville, Haley Dorman of Cattaraugus-Little Valley; and Olivia Frank of Franklinville.

Franklinville has earned the Team Sportsmanship Award, with Anna Slavinski earning the individual honor.


Lyric Westlund Sr. Pine Valley

Alex Minnekine Jr. Cattaraugus-Little Valley

Trista Farnham Jr. Pine Valley

Emilee Ruiz Jr. Ellicottvile

Tarryn Herman Jr. Franklinville


Michaela Rice Jr. North Collins

Allison Rowland Soph. Ellicottville

Haley Dorman Sr. Cattaraugus-Little Valley

Makenna Williams Sr. North Collins


Cattaraugus-Little Valley: Onalee Osgood (Soph.), Lexi Mikowicz (Sr.), Macy Pritchard (Sr.)

Franklinville: Megan Jackson (Soph.)

Pine Valley: Danielle West (8th)

Ellicottville: Jill Tomsick (Sr.)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today