Five Fredonia swimmers named D1 all-stars

The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association recently announced its Division 1 All-Star swimming and diving team for the 2021 season.

Olean/Portville/Franklinville led the way with six swimmers and divers named to the team. They are Megan Jackson, Alexis Trietley, Sara Thomas, Anna Slavinski, Tyyetta Herman and Makenna O’Connell.

Fredonia had the second-most named to the team with Elizabeth Pucci-Schaefer, Greta Frerichs, Angie May, Victoria Spacciapolli and Abigail Roth earning the nod. Pucci-Schaefer won the 1-meter diving competition at the CCAA meet with a score of 457.65 and Spacciapolli was a double-winner at the CCAA meet with wins in the 200-yard individual medley and 100-yard breaststroke.

The winner of the CCAA meet, Southwestern/Jamestown, had four named to the all-star team — Alexis Grijalva, Isabella Grijalva, Morgan Faulk and Teagan Shedd.

Frewsburg/Falconer had three named to the team — Brianna Rosequist, Ava Palmquist and Cara Pillittieri. At the CCAA meet, Frewsburg/Falconer took second place, led by two second-place finishes from Pillittieri.

Allegany-Limestone/Ellicottville had one all-star named, Lauryn Ball, who earned a first-place finish in the 100 backstroke.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today