Bright future

Cougars’ Emiley Anderson named to CCAA D1 East First Team

Cassadaga Valley sophomore Emiley Anderson is defended by Falconer senior Dani Krenzer. The pair were both named CCAA Division 1 East First-Team All-Stars. OBSERVER File Photo by Ashleigh Brown

Portville junior Lilly Bentley was recently named the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 1 East Player of the Year.

Bentley averaged 17.2 points, 12.1 rebounds, 3.3 steals, 2.7 blocked shots and 1.2 assists per game for the league-champion Panthers.

Inga Welty was named the Coach of the Year after leading Portville to a 9-1 league record and the Panthers also shared the Team Sportsmanship Award with Frewsburg. Portville junior Avery DeFazio and Frewsburg senior Madigan Collver shared the Individual Sportsmanship Award.

Frewsburg sisters Jadyn Trocki and Teghan Trocki were named to the league’s First Team along with Falconer’s Dani Krenzer, Cassadaga Valley’s Emiley Anderson and Salamanca’s Karina Crouse.

Jadyn Trocki, an eighth-grader, averaged 20.3 points, 6.6 rebounds, 5.2 steals and 5.2 assists per game, while Teghan Trocki, a sophomore, averaged 21.0 points, 6.5 rebounds, 3.5 steals and 2.8 assists per game.

Cassadaga Valley sophomore Aliyah Hopkins attempts a layup in the Section VI Class C semifinals against Wilson, Hopkins was an honorable mention selection in CCAA D1 East. OBSERVER File Photo by Jason Bower

Krenzer, a senior, averaged 16.0 points, 6.0 steals, 3.0 assists and 2.0 rebounds per game for the Golden Falcons.

Anderson, a sophomore, averaged 18.3 points, 5.7 rebounds, 5.1 steals and 1.1 assists per game for the Cougars.

Crouse, a junior, averaged 10.4 points, 4.9 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 2.2 assists per game for the Warriors.

Portville placed three players on the league’s Second Team. The Panthers were represented by senior Teagan Kosinski as well as juniors Ava Haynes and Jackie Scanlon.

Frewsburg sophomore Taytum Jimerson and Falconer sophomore Augustine Krenzer rounded out the Second Team.

Cassadaga Valley’s Andrea Johnson and Breonna Hopkins, pictured, were both honorable-mention selections in CCAA Division 1 East. OBSERVER File Photo by Christian Storms

Honorable-mention selections included: Cassadaga Valley sophomore Aliyah Hopkins, junior Andrea Johnson and eighth-grader Breonna Hopkins; Salamanca juniors Lezly McComber, Bella Wolfe and Keianna John; and Falconer senior Kayla Jo Lynn, junior Kamryn Harper and freshman Emily Zaranek.

Cassadaga Valley’s Hailey Anderson, Falconer’s Nazariah Neal and Salamanca’s Mackenzie Crouse were their teams’ Sportsmanship Award representatives.

Cassadaga Valley’s Andrea Johnson, pictured, and Breonna Hopkins were both honorable-mention selections in CCAA Division 1 East. OBSERVER File Photo by Christian Storms


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today