Starting strong

Trojans girls shine on first day of CCAA track & field championships

Dunkirk’s Felicity Cooper clears the bar in the pole vault at the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association track and field championships Friday at Olean High School. OBSERVER Photo by Tim Frank

OLEAN — Three Southwestern girls were winners on the first night of the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association track and field championships Friday.

The Trojans’ Tryniti Card won the 800 meters in 2:26.99, Emma Lewis captured the 3,000-meter title in 10:16.68 and Faith Hamilton claimed the shot put with a toss of 35 feet, 8.5 inches.

Southwestern also had a winner on the boys side as Tyler McIntyre won the discus at 130 feet, 5 inches.

Falconer/Cassadaga Valley’s Mary Lundmark took the pole vault title with fewer attempts than Randolph’s Eve Adams at 9 feet. Frewsburg’s Gracie Conlan was the girls triple jump winner at 33 feet, 7.25 inches.

Five different schools had boys winners. In addition to McIntyre, Randolph’s Roan Kelly won the 800 meters in 1:55.63, Frewsburg’s Cody Kent won the 3,200 meters in 10:13.79, Maple Grove’s Jonah Foley claimed the high jump at 5 feet, 10 inches and Allegany-Limestone’s Nik Andrae took the triple jump crown with a leap of 40 feet.

Dunkirk’s Johnee Thomas qualifies for today’s 400-meter finals. OBSERVER Photo by Tim Frank


800m: Tryniti Card (So), Solki Martin-Lacayo (C/S/P), Kate Miller (So), Amilcar Ceteno (D), Lauryn BAll (A-L). T–2:26.99

3,000m: Emma Lewis (So), Olivia Harmony (WV), Calie Hudson (G), Lucy Brown (So), Ryanna Brady (Sa). T–10:16.68

Pole vault: Mary Lundmark (F/CV), Eve Adams (R), Felicity Cooper (D), Ellie Pearson (So), Elayna Pitts (Frew). H–9-0

Triple jump: Gracie Conlan (Frew), Mattie Evans-Brown (R), Isabella Milks (Sa), MIchaelynn Lecceradone (Sa), Presley Haines (MG). D–33-7.25

Silver Creek/Forestville’s competes in the 400-meter hurdles. OBSERVER Photo by Tim Frank

Shot put: Faith Hamilton (So), Mikayla Johnson (So), Elizabeth Price (F/E), Leigha Sischo (So), Lucille Jimerson (SC/F). D–35-8.5


800m: Roan Kelly (R), Ethan Verbosky (MG), Donavin Brown (So), Trey Faulk (So), Lucas Lawrie (D). T–1:55.63

3,200m: Cody Kent (Frew), Chase Bolen (G), Jack Tharnish (WV), Rhys Kelly (R), Lucas Dunnewold (C/S/P). T–10:13.79

High jump: Jonah Foley (MG), Nathan Mays (SC/F), Max Permentier (F/CV), Joshua Nolder (A-L), Zack Kachermeyer (R). H–5-10

Triple jump: Nik Andrae (A-L), Jaylen McMichael (D), Jonah Foley (MG), Connor Young (So), Parker Dornan (P). D–40-0

Discus: Tyler McIntyre (So), Walter Lukasiak (CL/W/B), Conner Jakubowicz (D), Kevin Edwards-Hardy (A-L), Mason Maring (CL/W/B). D–130-5


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today