Wallace shoots 83 at Conewango Valley CC on May 8

WARREN, Pa. — Dave Wallace won his first Wednesday Travel League event of the season, shooting the low round of 83 at Conewango Valley Country Club on May 8.

Mike Schwertfager finished second, a stroke back with 84. Bob North was third with 87. Schwertfager and Dave Franklin tied for the low front nine with 44s. Wallace and North tied for the low back nine with 38s. In the B Flight, Franklin was the winner, edging Dave Criscione on the first tiebreaker hole. In the C Flight, Dennis Gawronski Sr. won a three-way tiebreaker over Mike Willoughby and Tony Destro. The winner of the Bruce “Java” Chrabasz Commissioner’s Award was Jack Hood.

Untied birdies were recorded by: A Flight — Robert Calph (No. 3), Ed Tofil (No. 6), Tim Walawender (Nos. 7, 8), Jeff Marsowicz (No. 9), Schwertfager (No. 11), Wallace (No. 12) and North (No. 16); B Flight — Tom Sacilowski (No. 2), Phil Hopkins (No. 3), Pete Pinkoski (No. 4), Gary Haase (Nos. 5, 7, 16), Matt Haase (Nos. 6, 15), Franklin (No. 10) and Mick Dunning Sr. (No. 11); C Flight — Pat Weaver (No. 5), Willoughby (No. 8), Lenny Leszkowicz (No. 9), Bob Kujawa (Nos. 12, 16) and Destro (No. 15).

Closest to the pin were: Pinkoski (No. 2), Gary Haase (No. 5), Walawender (No. 7), Schwertfager (No. 11) and North (No. 16). Winners of the Steeplechase were: Wallace (A Flight), Joe Woloszyn (B) and Don Kujawa (C).

Top point winners were: Gary Haase (52), Walawender (47), and Schwertfager and North (42 apiece). Season points leaders (through seven events): 1. Josh Hilliker (156), 2. Gary Haase (121), 3. Jeff Nelson (102), 4. Sacilowski (91), 5. North (78), 6. Calph (77), 7. Tofil (71), 8. Wallace (66), 9. Pinkoski (61), 10. Don Kujawa (53).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today