Portville wins both individual awards in D2 East softball

Portville swept a pair of individual awards as Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 East coaches released their all-star team recently.

Panthers senior Mattison Foster was named the league’s Player of the Year, while Portville sophomore Bella Morales was named the Pitcher of the Year. The Panthers finished 12-0 in the league to win the title by three games over Ellicottville.

Sophomore Madison Ford, junior Peyton Young and senior Madeline Thornton joined Foster and Morales on the First Team, which Portville was represented by freshman Ella Warters and senior Avery DeFazio on the Second Team. Sophomore Alexa Schoonover was an honorable-mention selection for the Panthers.

Second-place Ellicottville, which eventually won the Section VI Class D title, was represented by sophomore Ande Northrup, junior Courtney Marsh and senior Jaida Mendell on the First Team. Sophomore Riley Whitmer, eighth-grader Katie Lafferty and senior Keelin Finn were named to the Second Team, while senior Emmylu Carls represented the Eagles as an honorable-mention choice. Ellicottville’s Matt Finn also earned the Coach of the Year award, while the Eagles received the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Third-place Franklinville was represented by junior Lilah Cudney and senior Olivia Frank on the First Team; seventh-grader Grace Cornell, junior Hailey Rzucek and freshman Taylor Chase on the Second Team; and sophomores Makenzie Chase and Kaelyann Graves-Decker as honorable-mention selections.

Cattaraugus-Little Valley and North Collins tied for fourth place. The Timberwolves had eighth-grader Madison Rogan and freshman Carly Preston on the First Team; freshman Riley Preston on the Second Team; and sophomore Kylie Unruh as an honorable-mention choice. The Eagles had senior Jaylee Jimerson on the First Team; senior Cate Ayers and eighth-grader Lily Montaldi on the Second Team; and freshman Isabelle Contro and senior Novalee Schlenker as honorable-mention selections.

Salamanca junior Skyla Dowdy was the Warriors’ lone player on the First Team. Sophomore Makenzie Crouse was named to the Second Team, while senior Marlee Maybee was named to the honorable-mention list.

West Valley did not have a First-Team representative, but senior Mara Swan was named to the Second Team. Seniors Ronni DuFrane and Emma Smith were honorable-mention selections.

Individual Sportsmanship honors went to Portville freshman Autumn Baker, Ellicottville senior Emma Lafferty, Franklinville senior Tiffany McClory-Ensell, North Collins’ Schlenker, Cattaraugus-Little Valley senior Loren Maguda, Salamanca senior Kortney DeBoy and West Valley sophomore Payton Ehnes.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today