West wins the Southern Tier All-Star Classic 4-3

The West team is pictured after winning the Southern Tier All-Star Classic soccer match on Saturday at Bill Race Field in Falconer. Submitted Photo

FALCONER — The third annual Southern Tier All-Star Classic soccer match, featuring talented girls invited from the 40 school districts across the Southern Tier, was held Saturday evening under the lights at Falconer Central School’s Bill Race Field

The East vs. West clash was dedicated in memory of Mike Potter from Jasper, husband of Stephanie Potter and father of Hailey, Alexis and Madison, who lost his life in a tragic truck accident last September.

The West team roster included girls from Chautauqua and Cattaraugus counties while the East team was made up of girls from Allegany, Steuben and Livingston counties. Jeremy Harmon from Portville coached the West team, while Gavin Emery, New York State West Youth Soccer Association Coach of the Year in 2019, coached the East team.

The annual contest was won by the West team in 2022 by a score of 5-2 while the East team captured the 2023 event 2-0. This year’s clash proved to be a competitive battle, ending in a 4-3 result in favor of the West team. Maddie Potter opened the scoring for the East, followed by a pair of goals from Cloey Larabee, while Gianna Bowles netted a hat trick and Meghan Lyle scored once for the West.

The committee thanked Falconer Central School for the use of its wonderful facilities, the Color Guard from the Vietnam Veterans of America (Jamestown Chapter) for leading the procession into the stadium and for presenting the Colors, Angel Busch (2024 winner of Chautauqua’s Got Talent) for singing the national anthem, German Lesmes and Brayden Manzella for officiating the match, sponsors Cummins Jamestown Engine Plant, Southern Tier Security, Complete Group Travel, and Northwest Chautauqua Soccer Club, Olean Friendly’s for hosting the photo shoot, Mary Fales and Jason Helms, and the volunteers, officials, coaches and players for the roles they played this year.

The West team was made up of Lyle, Kylie Kress, Maddie Seastrum, Mackenzie Harmon, Emma Elliott, Haylee Babar, Kealy Caflisch, Jenica Jones, Brynn Helms, Madison Jobe, Piper Walnicki, Bowles, Molly Spontaneo, Ashley Carls and Julianna Roth.

The East team was made up of Jennifer Dickens, Cloey Larabee, Maeve Turner, Karleigh Truax, Charlotte Keeports, Maddie Potter, Alexis Potter, Shannon Spoth, Lydia Kaye, Lizzy Seely, Addy Clark, Caelyn Stevens, Alexa Hennessy, Brynna Gaylord, Mariah Allen and Alexa Allen.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today