Silver Creek and Fredonia look to make deep runs in baseball playoffs

OBSERVER File Photo Silver Creek’s Chris Williams will look to lead the Black Knights through the Class C1 playoffs and beyond as the No. 1 seed.

The Fredonia Hillbillies enter the Section VI playoffs looking to defend their Class B crown while the Silver Creek Black Knights will attempt to make a name for themselves in the Class C tournament.

Fredonia enters the Class B2 tournament as the No. 3 seed and will look to win a seventh-consecutive Section VI Class B title. The Hillbillies begin play on May 19 when they host the winner of JFK/Wilson.

The Silver Creek Black Knights enter the playoffs as the lone No. 1 seed among Northern Chautauqua County teams. Their postseason begins May 22 when they host the winner of Chautauqua Lake/Cassadaga Valley.

In Class B1, Dunkirk earned a No. 7 seed and travels to No. 2 Alden on May 19.

The Class B1 tournament begins with the prequarterfinals on May 18 as No. 8 East Aurora hosts No. 9 Newfane. The winner of that game faces No. 1 City Honors. No. 5 Springville-Griffith travels to No. 4 Depew and No. 6 CSAT travels to No. 3 Albion, all on May 19. The Class B1 final will be on May 24 at Gowanda High School.

The Class B2 prequarterfinals begin May 18 as No. 9 Medina travels to No. 8 Southwestern while on the same day, No. 5 Eden hosts No. 12 Lackawanna; No. 6 Wilson hosts No. 1 JFK and No. 7 Gowanda hosts No. 10 Akron.

No. 1 Olmsted hosts the winner of Medina/Southwestern and No. 4 Royland-Hartland hosts the winner of Lackawanna/Eden.

The Class B2 final is on May 22 at Gowanda High School and the B1/B2 crossover game is May 27 at a location to be determined.

The Class C1 prequarterfinals begin May 19 with No. 5 Chautauqua Lake at No. 4 Cassadaga Valley; No. 6 Falconer at No. 3 WNY Maritime and No. 7 Salamanca at No. 2 Allegany-Limestone.

The winner of Falconer/WNY Maritime will face the winner of Salamanca/Allegany-Limestone on May 22.

The Class C1 final will be on May 24 at Diethrick Park in Jamestown.

The Class C2 quarterfinals get underway on May 19 as No. 5 Holland travels to No. 4 Frewsburg; No. 6 randolph travels to No. 3 Maple Grove and No. 7 Portville travels to No. 2 Westfield.

The winner of Holland/Frewsburg will face No. 1 Barker on May 22 while the Randolph Maple Grove winner faces the winner of Portville/Westfield the same day.

The Class C2 final will be held May 24 at Diethrick Park and the C1/C2 crossover game will be May 27.

The Class D quarterfinals begin May 22 with No. 4 Pine Valley hosting No. 5 Clymer and No. 3 Brocton hosting No. 6 Ellicottville.

The winner of Clymer/Pine Valley will face No. 1 North Collins on May 24 while the Brocton/Ellicottville winner will face No. 2 Franklinville the same day.

The Class D final will be May 27 at a location to be determined.

In Class A2, the No. 7 Lake Shore Eagles begin their postseason with a May 18 matchup against No. 10 Cheektowaga.

The A2 final is May 24 at TBD while the A1/A2 crossover game is May 27 at TBD.