Twenty years ago — 1998

The city of Dunkirk’s new lakefront bike path/walkway will have a caretaker, thanks to the St. Elizabeth Ann Seton CYO. Members of the youth group addressed the city council and volunteered to adopt and help maintain the bike path/walkway from Main Street to the marina. The group will meet on a regular basis to clean up the area. There are eight dead trees along the bike path/walkway and the group would like to take them out and replace them with new trees to match the newly finished portion of the path. CYO adviser Sam Mancuso, who operates a local landscape company, said he would donate the trees.

Thirty years ago — 1988

Councilman-at-Large Greg Krauza recently made the announcement that the city of Dunkirk would rename a portion of Woodrow Avenue to Marauder Drive in honor of the Class B state champion Dunkirk Marauder baseball team. The announcement was met with considerable enthusiasm by everyone present, particularly High School Principal John J. Mancuso, who shook hands with each councilman and gave Mayor Madylon Kubera a kiss shortly after the announcement was made. The portion of Woodrow Avenue to be renamed runs between Lucas Avenue and Sixth Street and is adjacent to the high school and the little league field.

Forty years ago — 1978

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Robert Bergland call the new Agricultural Information Services in Jamestown “a symbol of Chautauqua County’s dedication to agriculture.” Mr. Bergland was the principal speaker during the hourlong ceremonies attended by about 500 agricultural and political leaders. Hamilton H. Clothier, president of the Cooperative Extension Association, acted as master of ceremonies.

Fifty years ago — 1968

The Dunkirk Recreation Department received word today that the 1968 Annual Publications Award has been made to the city of Dunkirk for its 1967 annual report of recreational activities in the city. The award is made yearly by the New York State Recreation and Parks Commission for the best compiled and submitted annual reports made by a municipality. The city of Dunkirk was named second recipient of the award following New Rochelle.