Twenty years ago — 1998

There will be a full-year journalism course offered as an English elective to Brocton High School students this coming school year. The unanimous decision to restore the course came after the BCS board listened for almost an hour as audience members outlined why the class needs to be part of the high school curriculum. The board was also presented with petitions, which contained 251 signatures representing 191 district residents and 61 students who support the class taught by Dadie Sedota.

Thirty years ago — 1988

Dr. James H. Shorr, a Fredonia dentist, received the Academy of General Dentistry’s prestigious Mastership Award during a special ceremony at AGD’s annual meeting in Chicago. The academy is the second largest dental organization in North America with 30,000 members. Dr. Shorr graduated from Buffalo State University in 1971. He is the recipient of the Certificate of Comprehensive Dentistry from the University of Florida School of Dentistry. He has been practicing in Fredonia since 1972.

Forty years ago — 1978

The city of Dunkirk is “waiting for the word” from the county to begin use of the county trash transfer station on Webster Road near Route 60 in the town of Pomfret, Dunkirk Public Works Director John Palmer said. When the transfer station opens, the city of Dunkirk will be the biggest user. The city will send between two to four truckloads of garbage and trash to the station Monday through Friday. Until the station opens, the city will continue to haul trash to the county landfill on South Roberts Road in the East Town of Dunkirk.

Fifty years ago — 1968

The chairman of the Dunkirk Democratic Committee has served notice that city Democrats are “out to defeat the undemocratic proposed Chautauqua County charter.” Councilman George Hutchinson, the city chairman, lambasted county Republicans for the charter which was approved by the board of supervisors and will be voted on in a special election Sept. 10. It calls for an elected, 29-member legislature to replace the board of supervisors and an appointed county executive.