Twenty years ago — 1999

Boy Scout Travis Gray of Troop 217 of Brocton received the Al Altare Dei Emblem from the Most Rev. Henry Mansell, Bishop of Buffalo, during a ceremony held at St. Joseph’s Cathedral in Buffalo. Travis is the only boy in Chautauqua County to receive the award. The Ad Altare Dei Emblem is awarded to those Catholic Boy Scouts who have worked over the past year n community and parish service, which also emphasizes gaining greater knowledge of the sacraments and growing in the faith. Travis is the son of John and Susan Gray of Portland.

Thirty years ago — 1989

Fredonia native and 1973 Fredonia State University College graduate Diane Pennica, a molecular biologist with Genentech, Inc. of San Francisco, was one of four California scientists named co-winners of the 1989 Inventor of the Year Award. Dr. Pennica and three colleagues received the award for their development of a drug product containing human tissue plasminogen activator, better known as t-PA. The drug is used in dissolving blood clots in heart attack victims. The four scientists will share a $4,000 cash award. Dr. Pennica is the daughter of Frank Pennica of 173 Berry St., Fredonia and the late Mamie Pennica.

Forty years ago — 1979

Diane Louise Waite, 17, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Roger Waite, 7 First St., Westfield has been selected Student of the Week. A senior at Westfield Academy and Central School, she is a member of the National Honor Society, High School Bowl Team, and Student Council. Chosen “Outstanding Teenager” by the Westfield Jaycees, Diane was the winner of the Bausch and Lomb Science Award. She participated in a number of dramatic productions and is a member of the track team.

Fifty years ago — 1969

At the first annual meeting of the newly organized Heart Association of Western New York, Radio Station WBUZ was awarded the 1969 Heart Fund Citation. The citation credits the station with outstanding service in advancing the heart program and stimulating public support in the fight against diseases of the heart. Also at the meeting, Dr. Joseph B. Callagee was elected as the first president.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)