Fredonia’s Seastedt named Defensive Player of the Year

Best of the West

OBSERVER File Photo Fredonia goalkeeper Marcus Seastedt, pictured above making a save in a game against Dunkirk earlier this year, was named as the Defensive Player of the Year for Division 1 West of the CCAA.

Before the season began, the Fredonia Hillbillies had to fill nine spots from last year’s squad, including many key starters. Fredonia head coach Jim Rush made the decision to fill his team’s void at goalkeeper with Marcus Seastedt, a fifth-year player who finally got his chance to be the go-to guy in Fredonia.

Seastedt made the most of his opportunity, and now, he is the division’s Defensive Player of the Year.

The Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 1 West All-Stars were released this week, featuring Fredonia’s Seastedt as the Defensive Player of the Year in the division.

After a steller performance in the opening game — a double overtime loss to Maple Grove, who finished the regular season undefeated — Coach Rush said, “If we get that kind of goalkeeping this year, we have nothing to worry about.”

Rush was right, as Seastedt carried the Hillbillies to the first playoff victory in six years.

Many of Seastedt’s Fredonia teammates were honored, as well. The Persch brothers — Gabe and Mike — represented the Fredonia midfield, along with Seastedt, on the division’s First Team. Gabe Persch had four goals and an assist, while Mike Persch had three and an assist, as well.

Four more Hillbillies made the division’s Second Team. Fredonia seniors Caleb Reynolds and Jimmy Rush, junior Mike Dispense and sophomore Mike Berg all earned the honor. Reynolds was the team’s leading point scorer with three goals and five assists. Jimmy Rush was second on the team in assists, with four. Max Kinkela and Alex Maytum eached earned Honorable Mention.

Dunkirk senior Tristan Skelly also was honored with a First Team selection from Division 1 West. Skelly — who began the year as the Marauders’ goalkeeper — finished with a team-leading five goals on the year. Dunkirk junior Alex Sanchez made the division’s Second Team, while juniors Adam Sanchez and Nick Hayes earned Honorable Mention.

Chautauqua Lake was in a similar position as Dunkirk, with one member on the First Team, one on the Second Team and a pair of Honorable Mention selections. Earning First Team honors for Chautauqua Lake was goalkeeper Erik Peterson, while the Second Team selection was senior defenseman Brian Anderson. The Honorable Mention selections were senior Alex Gleason and junior Isai Saldana.

Southwestern — the division’s champion with a 9-0-1 record in league play — dominated the All-Star selections and honors. With four First Team selections, three Second Team honorees and three more players earning Honorable Mention, Southwestern got the credit it was due. The Trojans had Coach of the Year winner Jason Deering, Offensive Player of the Year Chase Stevenson — with a league-high 37 goals in 20 games — and the All-Conference Player in senior Mike Cammarata. Falconer-Cassadaga Valley won the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Twitter: @bradencarmen