NYSPHSAA announces Hall of Fame inductees

LATHAM — The New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) announced the inductees for its Class of 2020 Hall of Fame on Thursday. The Hall of Fame, launched in 2002, is sponsored by Pupil Benefits Plan, Inc. and Crown Awards.

This year’s inductees are Diane Chapman (Coach, Section VIII), Edward J. Goetz (Official, Section X), Carl Normandin (Administrator, Section X), Sharon Sarsen (Coach, Section I), Karen (O’Connor) Self (Athlete, Section I), and Marie Terc (Official, Section VIII).

Inductees were chosen through a two-level selection process involving a screening committee and a selection committee. Nominations were endorsed by each inductee’s member section of the Association – a preliminary requirement in the nomination process – before going on to the NYSPHSAA Screening Committee for consideration, then finally to the Selection Committee. Nominations can be submitted to a section office by anyone.

The NYSPHSAA Hall of Fame is modeled after the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) program which recognizes individuals in the categories of athlete, coach, official, administrator and related contributor.

The 2020 NYSPHSAA Hall of Fame Class will be inducted on Wednesday, July 29 at 6 p.m. at High Peaks Resort in Lake Placid, NY. Tickets for the Hall of Fame banquet are on sale to the public and may be purchased by calling Sandy Schanck at the NYSPHSAA Office, 518-690-0771, or by emailing sschanck@nysphsaa.org. Deadline to purchase tickets is July 15.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)